David Moyes has no desire to see video-replay technology used to determine whether or not a player has dived.
In a press conference ahead of Sunday’s FA Cup matches, as relayed by the Guardian, the Manchester United manager came out against suggestions that technology could be used to help catch divers and discourage disingenuous on-field behaviour, saying such a measure would only weaken the authority of the match officials.
Moyes' remarks came just days after one of his own players—Danny Welbeck—was accused of diving in a Premier League match against Tottenham Hotspur.
It’s there that we’ll begin this installment of "Dive or No Dive," and you’ll also have a chance to vote on recent incidents involving Chelsea’s Oscar and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo.
Exhibit A: Danny Welbeck vs. Tottenham Hotspur
Danny Welbeck went on to find the net against Tottenham Hotspur on New Year’s Day but not before an incident on the edge of the Spurs' box caused all sorts of controversy at Old Trafford.
Wriggling past Christian Eriksen, the England forward was then challenged by Vlad Chiriches, and although the Romania defender stuck out his leg, he didn’t appear to make any contact with Welbeck.
Or did he?
Could the United attacker have felt a slight touch on his foot before throwing himself to ground?
Exhibit B: Oscar vs. Southampton
This one also took place on a jam-packed day of New Year’s Day matches.
Shortly after replacing Juan Mata in the second half, and with Chelsea and Southampton deadlocked in a scoreless tie at St. Mary’s, Oscar attempted to give the Blues the advantage when he went to ground just before the hour mark.
Running in on goal, the Brazilian didn’t seem to be touched by the on-rushing Kelvin Davis, who had sprinted off his line to halt the Chelsea attack.
At least, that was Martin Atkinson’s view of the incident and he presented Oscar with a yellow card for his theatrics.
Exhibit C: Cristiano Ronaldo vs. Celta Vigo
We conclude at the Santiago Bernabeu, where Real Madrid opened the 2014 portion of their Primera Division schedule against Celta Vigo on Monday.
Madrid were still searching for an opening midway through the second half when Cristiano Ronaldo took a tumble in the guests’ 18-yard-box—the Portuguese captain claiming to have been pulled as he chased down a cross from the right.
But the referee was unmoved—although he didn’t book Ronaldo—and it took until the 67th minute for Karim Benzema to break the deadlock.
Ronaldo then scored twice in the final eight minutes.
Like the new article format? Send us feedback!