Power Ranking the Past Ballon d'Or Winners

« Prev
1 of 23
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Power Ranking the Past Ballon d'Or Winners
Presse Sports-USA TODAY Sports
Smiles better: FC Barcelona playmaker Lionel Messi celebrates with his four FIFA Ballon d'Or trophies

With just a few days to go until the 2013 Ballon d’Or winner is announced, we take a look back at the past winners and power rank those stars who were crowned European Footballer of the Year.

Now, although the Ballon d’Or itself dates back to 1956, we will start in 1991, the year world football’s governing body introduced its own accompanying World Player of the Year award, with the two individual gongs having been merged together four years ago to form the FIFA Ballon d’Or trophy, which will be presented in Zurich on Monday.

So here are the past 22 winners then, power ranked in descending order, and let us know whether you agree or disagree with our final selections …

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

World Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.