EPL Week 21 Picks: Predictions for the Weekend and Key Players to Watch

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
EPL Week 21 Picks: Predictions for the Weekend and Key Players to Watch
Michael Regan/Getty Images

Week 21 of the 2013-14 Premier League season brings us full circle as all 20 top-flight teams meet those opponents faced in the campaign's opening fixtures.

Premier League matters have been on the back burner thanks to FA Cup demands, but that didn't relieve the pressure on managers of Manchester United, West Ham and Aston Villa, all of whom bowed out of the nation's largest tournament, along with others.

Those teams will all hope for a change of luck as attention shifts back to league matters, but which sides will get their seasons back on track? We predict the weekend's results and key players below:

Premier League Week 21 Predictions
Fixture Date Time Predictions Viewing Info Stream
Hull City vs. Chelsea Jan. 11 12:45 p.m. GMT/7:45 a.m. ET 1-1 BT Sport BT Sport App
Cardiff City vs. West Ham Jan. 11 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 2-0
Everton vs. Norwich City Jan. 11 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 3-1
Fulham vs. Sunderland Jan. 11 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 2-2
Southampton vs. West Brom Jan. 11 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 2-1
Tottenham vs. Crystal Palace Jan. 11 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 1-1
Manchester United vs. Swansea City Jan. 11 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET 2-2 Sky Sports 1 SkyGo App
Newcastle United vs. Manchester City Jan. 12 2:05 p.m. GMT/9:05 a.m. ET 2-3 Sky Sports 1 SkyGo App
Stoke City vs. Liverpool Jan. 12 4:10 p.m. GMT/11:10 a.m. ET 1-3 Sky Sports 1 SkyGo App
Aston Villa vs. Arsenal Jan. 13 8 p.m. GMT/3 p.m. ET 0-2 Sky Sports 1 SkyGo App

PremierLeague.com

 

Seamus Coleman vs. Norwich City

Seamus Coleman has gone through another advanced stage of his development this season under Roberto Martinez, and it all started with the 2-2 draw on the opening day of the season against Norwich City.

Since then, the Irishman has established himself as arguably the most consistent right-back in the Premier League. After grabbing a goal and an assist at Carrow Road, he'll be looking to clip the Canaries' wings once more this weekend.

Paul Thomas/Getty Images

Martin Olsson has shown signs of weakness at left-back for Chris Hughton's outfit in recent weeks, and Everton's formation means their full-backs are given free license to roam whenever possible. 

As a result, the Swedish defender will likely find himself exposed by Coleman's surging runs as the Toffees look to maintain their top-four challenge.

Coleman is in good scoring form too, having followed up his recent stunners against Swansea and Southampton with another strike in the 4-0 routing of QPR over the weekend.

 

Emmanuel Adebayor vs. Crystal Palace

Emmanuel Adebayor has shot back into the Tottenham frame since Tim Sherwood took over as interim manager at Spurs, but the Togolese forward faces a tough test against the visiting Eagles on Saturday.

Paul Gilham/Getty Images

Tony Pulis' appointment has given Crystal Palace newfound structure, particularly among their defensive ranks, and Adebayor will once again look to be the difference after scoring goals against Southampton, Manchester United and West Ham in recent weeks.

The Spurs frontman will seek to create further understanding with Roberto Soldado—if the Spaniard is fit—with Sherwood likely to persevere with a 4-4-2 formation. The north Londoners will be keen to correct the mistakes that were on display during their FA Cup 2-0 defeat at Arsenal.

Adebayor was poor during that loss but is ready to bounce back, posting on Instagram in the wake of that Arsenal clash, "I will come back stronger."

 

Alejandro Pozuelo vs. Manchester United

Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Alejandro Pozuelo pitched in with a man-of-the-match performance during the shock 2-1 win over Manchester United on Sunday, and he makes his way back to Old Trafford hoping to replicate those fortunes against the Red Devils.

It was the Spaniard's cutthroat pass in behind David Moyes' back line that opened up the platform for Wayne Routledge to score the opening goal.

The attacking midfielder has started just once in Michael Laudrup's last six league games, but he will be hoping that the impressive outing against United will be enough to earn him a starting berth this Saturday in what could be a historic fixture for the Welsh outfit.

You can follow me on Twitter: 

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Premier League

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.