PBR Monster Energy Invitational 2014: Daily Results and Top Riders

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
PBR Monster Energy Invitational 2014: Daily Results and Top Riders
Ryan Pierse/Getty Images

The PBR Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden is one of the biggest events in professional bull riding as some of the top riders in the world come to New York City to compete at Madison Square Garden.

The 2014 edition of the event has featured some wild action and will continue to go on throughout the weekend.  The event started on January 3 with the first round and will end on January 5 with the third round along with the finals.  With the event at Madison Square Garden, it's a great opportunity for the sport to gain some national exposure.

Below is a look at the results from each round of the Monster Energy Buck Off, followed by a recap of each day.

Round 1 Results

Round 1 Results
Place Rider Score Dollars
1/2 Fabiano Vieira 88.25 $3,165.00
1/2 Ty Pozzobon 88.25 $3,165.00
3 Chase Outlaw 87.50 $2,000.00
4/5 Kody Lostroh 87.00 $1,075.00
4/5 J.B. Mauney 87.00 $1,075.00
6 Shane Proctor 86.75 $600.00
7 Billy Robinson 86.00 $450.00
8/10 Kasey Hayes 85.75 $123.33
8/10 Austin Meier 85.75 $123.33
8/10 Robson Palermo 85.75 $123.33
11/12 Mike Lee 84.50 $0.00
11/12 Guilherme Marchi 84.50 $0.00
13 Jory Markiss 84.00 $0.00
14/15 Cody Nance 83.75 $0.00
14/15 Ryan Dirteater 83.75 $0.00
16 L.J. Jenkins 83.00 $0.00
17 Valdiron de Oliveira 81.75 $0.00
18 Claudio Crisostomo 78.25 $0.00
19 Lachlan Richardson 73.50 $0.00

Riders after No. 19 earned scores of 0.00

Heading into the round, all eyes were on reigning champion J.B. Mauney, who was looking to begin his 2014 campaign with a nice start to the event.  He finished with a solid 87-point performance while riding Stay Thirsty, putting him in the top five tied with former 2009 World champion Kody Lostroh.

As for the leaders, both Fabiano Vieira and Ty Pozzobon were able to tie with scores of 88.25 to stay on top for the day.  The PBR's Instagram account gave us a great picture of Vieira riding Mess Mossy:

It wasn't good for every rider, however.  According to the PBR Twitter account, Silvano Alves was only able to stay on for 1.77 seconds, but that's probably a lot longer than the average person watching could stay on:

Overall, it was a strong first round that helped get fans excited for what Round 2 would have in store.

Round 2 Results

Round 2 Results
Place Rider Score Dollars
1 Fabiano Vieira 87.75 $3,580.00
2 Cody Nance 87.50 $2,750.00
3/5 Guilherme Marchi 86.50 $1,383.33
3/5 Robson Palermo 86.50 $1,383.33
3/5 Ryan Dirteater 86.50 $525.00
6/7 Mike Lee 86.00 $525.00
6/7 Joao Ricardo Vieira 86.00 $525.00
8 Renato Nunes 85.75 $370.00
9 J.B. Mauney 85.50 $0.00
10 Nathan Schaper 85.25 $0.00
11 Markus Mariluch 84.50 $0.00

Riders after No. 11 earned scores of 0.00

While eight fewer riders were able to post scores in the second round, all 11 riders in Round 2 to stay on longer than eight seconds posted very respectable scores.

After not posting a score in Round 1, 2013 Rookie of the Year Joao Ricardo Vieira was able to have a very nice ride in the second round, posting a score of 86 to get him on the board.  The 29-year-old had three event wins in his first year, and he's hoping to get 2014 off to a nice start.

After finishing in third in Round 1, Chase Outlaw was unable to have the same kind of success in Round 2, as he fell off early and wasn't able to get on the board.

Of course, the biggest winner from Round 2 was Fabiano Vieira.  For the second straight day, he finished at the top of the board, only this time he finished as the sole leader in Round 2 with a score of 87.75.  Pozzobon, the other co-leader after the first round, didn't qualify on the second day.

It appears that Vieira will be the rider to beat as the event winds down on January 5, but anything can happen.

Round 3 Results

Round 3 Results
Place Rider Score Dollars
1 Emilio Resende 87.50 $3,580.00
2 Ben Jones 87.25 $2,750.00
3 Pistol Robinson 87.00 $2,000.00
4 Kasey Hayes 86.50 $1,300.00
5 Mark Triplett 86.25 $850.00
6 Kody Lostroh 86.00 $600.00
7/9 Guilherme Marchi 85.50 $273.33
7/9 Austin Meier 85.50 $273.33
7/9 J.B. Mauney 85.50 $273.33
10 Fabiano Vieira 85.00 $0.00
11 Sean Willingham 82.75 $0.00
12 Markus Mariluch 80.75 $0.00
13 Ryan Dirteater 77.50 $0.00
14 Nathan Schaper 73.75 $0.00

Riders after No. 14 earned scores of 0.00

It wasn't the best day start to the final day of the even for some of the top riders.  Mauney finished tied for seventh with two other riders, while Fabiano Vieira finished in 10th, just outside of the riders that earned money.

Emilio Resende had the best ride of the round, finishing with a strong 87.50, while Ben Jones had an 87.25 after riding a tough Ludacris.  It was a surprising round, but all eyes were on what would happen in the Championship Round, and who would come out on top.

Championship Round Results

Championship Round Results
Place Rider Score Dollars
1 J.B. Mauney 89.50 $4,700.00
2 Ryan Dirteater 87.75 $3,600.00
3 Fabiano Vieira 86.50 $2,400.00
4 Guilherme Marchi 85.50 $1,200.00
5 Nathan Schaper 82.50 $0.00
6 Mike Lee 79.00 $0.00

With a great 89.5-point performance from Mauney, he was able to take a share of the Monster Energy Buck Off title.  The reigning PBR World Champion shared the title with Fabiano Vieira, who scored 86.5 points in the Championship Round.

It was a great event for Guilherme Marchi as well.  The former 2008 World Champion posted an 85.5 in the final round to finish in third place, while Ryan Dirteater ended in fourth.  Mike Lee, the 2004 World Champion, came away with just 79 points in the final round, but still came away in fifth overall for the weekend.

It was a great finish to an exciting weekend at Madison Square Garden.  Congratulations to J.B. Mauney and Fabiano Vieira, as they were terrific throughout the three days.

Follow B/R on Facebook