NFL Pro Bowl 2014: Date, Start Time, Format, Players and Preview

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NFL Pro Bowl 2014: Date, Start Time, Format, Players and Preview
Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL announced the complete list of available players for the 2014 Pro Bowl. This year will mark the first time in which the teams will not be divided by conference. Instead, the first-ever Pro Bowl Draft will take place to decide which team these players will join.

Two Hall of Famers will serve as captains for their respective teams this year. These captains are none other than Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders.

This upcoming Pro Bowl Draft will be nationally televised on the NFL Network during a three-hour long event at 8:00 p.m. ET on Wednesday, January 22, 2014. That doesn't give these players much time to get accustomed with one another, as the Pro Bowl is played just four days later.

When: Sunday, January 26, 2014, at 7:00 p.m. ET

Where: Aloha Stadium, Honolulu, Hawaii.

Watch: NBC

Available Players


Pro Bowl Roster - Offense
Pos. Player Team
QB Tom Brady New England Patriots
QB Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
QB Peyton Manning Denver Broncos
QB Cam Newton Carolina Panthers
QB Philip Rivers San Diego Chargers
QB Russell Wilson Seattle Seahawks
WR Antonio Brown Pittsburgh Steelers
WR Dez Bryant Dallas Cowboys
WR Josh Gordon Cleveland Browns
WR A.J. Green Cincinnati Bengals
WR Andre Johnson Houston Texans
WR Calvin Johnson Detroit Lions
WR Brandon Marshall Chicago Bears
WR Demaryius Thomas Denver Broncos
OT Branden Albert Kansas City Chiefs
OT Jason Peters Philadelphia Eagles
OT Tyron Smith Dallas Cowboys
OT Joe Staley San Francisco 49ers
OT Joe Thomas Cleveland Browns
OT Trent Williams Washington Redskins
OG Jahri Evans New Orleans Saints
OG Ben Grubbs New Orleans Saints
OG Mike Iupati San Francisco 49ers
OG Logan Mankins New England Patriots
OG Louis Vasquez Denver Broncos
OG Marshal Yanda Baltimore Ravens
C Ryan Kalil Carolina Panthers
C Alex Mack Cleveland Browns
C Mike Pouncey Miami Dolphins
C Max Unger Seattle Seahawks
TE Jordan Cameron Cleveland Browns
TE Vernon Davis San Francisco 49ers
TE Jimmy Graham New Orleans Saints
TE Julius Thomas Denver Broncos
RB Jamaal Charles Kansas City Chiefs
RB Matt Forte Chicago Bears
RB Frank Gore San Francisco 49ers
RB Marshawn Lynch Seattle Seahawks
RB LeSean McCoy Philadelphia Eagles
RB Adrian Peterson Minnesota Vikings
FB Marcel Reece Oakland Raiders
FB Mike Tolbert Carolina Panthers



Pro Bowl Roster - Defense
Pos. Player Team
DE Greg Hardy Carolina Panthers
DE Cameron Jordan New Orleans Saints
DE Robert Quinn St. Louis Rams
DE Cameron Wake Miami Dolphins
DE J.J. Watt Houston Texans
DE Mario Williams Buffalo Bills
DT Gerald McCoy Tampa Bay Buccaneers
DT Haloti Ngata Baltimore Ravens
DT Dontari Poe Kansas City Chiefs
DT Justin Smith San Francisco 49ers
DT Ndamukong Suh Detroit Lions
DT Kyle Williams Buffalo Bills
OLB John Abraham Arizona Cardinals
OLB Ahmad Brooks San Francisco 49ers
OLB Tamba Hali Kansas City Chiefs
OLB Justin Houston Kansas City Chiefs
OLB Robert Mathis Indianapolis Colts
OLB Terrell Suggs Baltimore Ravens
MLB NaVorro Bowman San Francisco 49ers
MLB Vontaze Burfict Cincinnati Bengals
MLB Luke Kuechly Carolina Panthers
MLB Patrick Willis San Francisco 49ers
CB Brandon Flowers Kansas City Chiefs
CB Brent Grimes Miami Dolphins
CB Joe Haden Cleveland Browns
CB Patrick Peterson Arizona Cardinals
CB Darrelle Revis Tampa Bay Buccaneers
CB Richard Sherman Seattle Seahawks
CB Aqib Talib New England Patriots
CB Alterraun Verner Tennessee Titans
FS Jairus Byrd Buffalo Bills
FS Earl Thomas Seattle Seahawks
FS Eric Weddle San Diego Chargers
SS Eric Berry Kansas City Chiefs
SS Kam Chancellor Seattle Seahawks
SS Troy Polamalu Pittsburgh Steelers


Special Teams:

Pro Bowl Roster - Special Teams
Pos. Player Team
P Brandon Fields Miami Dolphins
P Johnny Hekker St. Louis Rams
K Matt Prater Denver Broncos
K Justin Tucker Baltimore Ravens
PR Antonio Brown Pittsburgh Steelers
PR Dexter McCluster Kansas City Chiefs
ST Justin Bethel Arizona Cardinals
ST Matthew Slater New England Patriots


Along with the change of adding a draft to this year's Pro Bowl, there have been some significant rule changes as well.

A two-minute warning will now be instituted at the end of each quarter. That means that when every quarter ends, there will be a change of possession. This is supposed to maintain uptempo offenses throughout but could lead to a series of Hail Mary's.

Kickoffs have been eliminated as well. After a change of possession following a score or the end of a quarter, the ball will be placed on a team's 25-yard line and the offense will begin from there.

This has affected the rosters quite a bit, as there are no longer spots for kick returners. There are still punt returners and specialist positions, however.

The game clock has also been significantly modified.

When the game clock winds under the two-minute warning in each quarter, the clock will stop following any play that does not gain yardage. This means if a quarterback is sacked or a running back is stuffed for no gain, the clock will halt until the next play.

Also, outside of the last two minutes of each quarter, the game clock will continue to wind on the referee's signal following an incomplete pass.

All of these changes are supposed to maintain a fluid game with limited stops in the action.

The rosters have not been decided yet, so a prediction here is impossible. One thing is for certain, however: Typically, there are plenty of offensive fireworks during the Pro Bowl. With these new changes that seem to favor the offensive side of the ball, expect another high-scoring game this year.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.