2013 BCS Championship GameDownload App

How FSU vs. Auburn Stacks Up Against Other Title Games from BCS Era

CHARLOTTE, NC - DECEMBER 07: Quarterback Jameis Winston #5 of the Florida State Seminoles passes against the Duke Blue Devils during the ACC Championship game at Bank of America Stadium on December 7, 2013 in Charlotte, North Carolina.  (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images
Perry KostidakisContributor IJanuary 2, 2017

When Jan. 6 rolls around, Florida State and Auburn will play in the final BCS title game, ending the format's 16-year reign as the preferred way to determine the national champion. In its place will come a four-team playoff, something that football fans have yearned for for years. 

BCS National Championships
YearWinnerLoserFinal Score
1998No. 1 TennesseeNo. 2 FSU23-6
1999No. 1 FSUNo. 2 Virginia Tech46-29
2000No. 1 OklahomaNo. 2 FSU13-2
2001No. 1 MiamiNo. 2 Nebraska37-14
2002No. 2 Ohio StateNo. 1 Miami31-24
2003No. 2 LSUNo. 1 Oklahoma21-14
2004No. 1 USCNo. 2 Oklahoma55-19
2005No. 2 TexasNo. 1 USC41-38
2006No. 2 FloridaNo. 1 Ohio State41-14
2007No. 2 LSUNo. 1 Ohio State38-24
2008No. 2 FloridaNo. 1 Oklahoma24-14
2009No. 1 AlabamaNo. 2 Texas37-21
2010No. 1 AuburnNo. 2 Oregon22-19
2011No. 2 AlabamaNo. 1 LSU21-0
2012No. 2 AlabamaNo. 1 Notre Dame42-14

The typical thing to do when an era ends is to reflect on it, to reminisce and compare it to the present. Florida State and Auburn may be a brand new matchup, but in the past, there's a few games that compare to it. 

The first that comes to mind is in fact last year's Notre Dame versus Alabama game. Notre Dame made it to the championship game despite many close calls, similar to Auburn this year. The Fighting Irish had five victories of seven points or less, the same number the Tigers have this year. 

Florida State and Alabama are both built in the same model, though the Seminoles enter the game undefeated and No. 1, two characteristics that the Tide did not posses. Alabama was favored by 9.5 over Notre Dame, according to oddshark.com, while FSU is favored by 8.5 over Auburn, according to bovada.com. 

For the Auburn faithful, this game might resemble the 2006 game, when undefeated Ohio State took on one-loss Florida, who were seven point underdogs. 

GLENDALE, AZ - JANUARY 08:  Head coach Urban Meyer of the Florida Gators celebrates with quarterback Chris Leak #12 after defeating the Ohio State Buckeyes 41-14 during the 2007 Tostitos BCS National Championship Game at the University of Phoenix Stadium
Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

The Buckeyes had one of the nation's most potent offenses, lead by Heisman Trophy winner Troy Smith, and remained as the top-ranked team for the entirety of the season. They were considered a powerhouse, beating No. 2 Texasthe defending national championsNo. 24 Penn State , No. 13 Iowa and then No. 2 Michigan in the season finale.

Florida, on the other hand, defeated No. 13 Tennessee, No. 9 LSU and No. 25 Georgia while losing to No. 11 Auburn and barely getting past South Carolina, winning when Jarvis Moss blocked a last-second Gamecocks field goal. 

When it came time to play, Ohio State scored on the opening kickoff and then failed to score again until the second quarter, the Buckeyes' last touchdown of the game. The Gators would win 41-14 and begin the SEC's current streak of national titles. 

It was the third time that the No. 2 team won the national championship; the No. 2-ranked team is 8-7 in the title game. 

Florida State will try to make that 8-8, while Auburn will try to continue the SEC's dominance. They'll carve their own part of history while contributing to what has already happened. 

Let the games begin. 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices