World Football

Raja Casablanca vs. Monterrey: Score, Report and Post-Match Reaction

AGADIR, MOROCCO - DECEMBER 14: Kouko Guehi of Casablanca celebrates after scoring his teams third goal during the FIFA Club World Cup Quarterfinal match between Raja Casablanca and CF Monterrey at Agadir Stadium on December 14, 2013 in Agadir, Morocco.  (Photo by Lars Baron/Getty Images)
Lars Baron/Getty Images
BR-UK StaffAnalyst IIIDecember 14, 2013

Hosts Raja Casablanca of Morocco beat Mexican side Monterrey, 2-1 after extra-time, to advance to the semi-finals of the Club World Cup.

Casablanca will now face Ronaldinho's Atletico Mineiro in the last four, with the other semi featuring Bayern Munich and Guangzhou Evergrande of China.

Chemseddine Chtibi put Casablanca ahead after 24 minutes, pouncing on a loose ball after Monterrey's goalkeeper Jonathan Orozco failed to gather a cross from the right.

Chtibi's stabbed finish hit the back of the next and a partisan crowd went predictably mad in appreciation.


But Monterrey hit back in the 53rd minute through captain Jose Maria Basanta to level the match. Basanta rose powerfully at the far post to head home a free-kick.


There would be no further addition to score in normal time. The game went into extra-time and the two tired teams were facing down the possibility of penalties.

Raja Casablanca struck early in the first period, however, and held onto their 2-1 lead to the delight of home fans to set up a mouth-watering clash with Brazilian giants Atletico Mineiro on December 18.

Their decisive goal was scored by midfielder Kouko Guehi, who headed home from a corner in the 95th minute to break Monterrey hearts.


Raja Casablanca's win was their first at the fourth attempt in the Club World Cup. The Moroccan side also appeared in the 2000 version—as per FIFA—where they suffered three defeats from three matches.

The Club World Cup resumes on December 17, with the first semi-final between Pep Guardiola's Bayern Munich and a Guangzhou Evergrande side managed by legendary Italian coach Marcello Lippi.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices