College Football Awards 2013: Results, Winners, Analysis and More

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
College Football Awards 2013: Results, Winners, Analysis and More
Getty Images

The best and brightest in college football were honored at the annual awards ceremony on Thursday night.

Jameis Winston was by far the biggest winner.

Before the show, he was announced as the winner of the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. The redshirt freshman would go on to add the Davey O'Brien Award to his trophy closet.

He became the third FSU QB to win the award.

Nobody can be too surprised that Winston took home so many honors. He's been one of the best players in college football this year and is the odds-on favorite to take home the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.

Florida State as a whole cleaned up on Thursday night. Bryan Stork won the Rimington Trophy as the nation's top center, and Roberto Aguayo took home the Lou Groza Award as the top placekicker.

No wonder the Seminoles are in the national championship.

It was assumed by many that Winston would win the Maxwell Award as well, but that ended up going to AJ McCarron. Even McCarron was surprised at the announcement, as the senior QB acknowledged upon receipt that he didn't think he was the best player among Winston, Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel and him.

Another one of the big winners was Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald. He was the recipient of the Nagurski, Lombardi, Outland and Bednarik awards. It's a bit of a shame that Heisman voters are loath to give credit to defensive players like Donald; he should at least get an invite to New York.

His performance this year was one of the few things that Panthers fans could get excited about.

Donald is in uncharted territory at Pitt, as nobody at the school has ever won four awards in one season.

One of the more touching moments from the evening was when John Gagliardi won the NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award. Gagliardi is a coaching legend for what he did at St. John's, and the ESPN broadcast had a video tribute befitting his incredible career.

He coached for a whopping 64 years, the most ever in college football.

Another emotional moment came when Devon Walker won the Disney Spirit Award. The former Tulane safety suffered a neck injury during a game against Tulsa in 2012. The entire crowd gave him a standing ovation when he came out onto the stage to accept the award.

He briefly spoke about the support of his teammates after winning the award via "They were there for me everyday I was in the hospital. It's like a family."

Now, college football fans only have to wait a few more days for the culmination of awards season with the Heisman awarded on Saturday. It's possibly telling that McCarron won the Maxwell. Only twice since 2000 has the winner of the Heisman Trophy also won the Maxwell Award.

In case you missed it or haven't been keeping track, here's a list of the awards that have been handed out so far this year.

Award Player School
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm AJ McCarron Alabama
John Mackey Austin Seferian-Jenkins Washington
Rimington Bryan Stork Florida State
Bronco Nagurski Aaron Donald Pittsburgh
Vince Lombardi Aaron Donald Pittsburgh
Walter Camp Jameis Winston Florida State
Ted Hendricks Jackson Jeffcoat Texas
Doak Walker Andre Williams Boston College
Fred Biletnikoff Brandin Cooks Oregon State
Lou Groza Roberto Aguayo Florida State
Jim Thorpe Darqueze Dennard Michigan State
Davey O'Brien Jameis Winston Florida State
Home Depot Gus Malzahn Auburn
Outland Aaron Donald Pittsburgh
Ray Guy Tom Hornsey Memphis
Chuck Bednarik Aaron Donald Pittsburgh
Maxwell AJ McCarron Alabama
College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.