College Football Awards Show 2013: Start Time, Date, TV Info and More

Donald Wood@@Donald_WoodFeatured ColumnistDecember 10, 2013

Nov 30, 2013; Syracuse, NY, USA; Boston College Eagles running back Andre Williams (44) runs around the end during the first quarter of a game against the Syracuse Orange at the Carrier Dome.Syracuse won the game 34-31. Mandatory Credit: Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports
Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

After an unpredictable 2013 college football regular season, the focus has shifted to the 23rd edition of the Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN.

With some of the biggest names in the sport coming together for one special night, college football fans will witness the most important honors of the year being awarded to the most deserving competitors.

Here is when and how to watch the ceremony.


Date: Thursday, Dec. 12

Time: 7 p.m. ET


Live Stream: Watch ESPN


All of the following awards will be presented at the show (the John Mackey and Rimington Awards will be presented in a special pre-show on ESPNU, per ESPN). Here are the nominees for each trophy and my predicted winners.


Nov 23, 2013; Syracuse, NY, USA; Pittsburgh Panthers defensive lineman Aaron Donald (97) reacts while leaving the field following the game against the Syracuse Orange at the Carrier Dome.  Pittsburgh defeated Syracuse 17-16.  Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes
Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year)

  • Anthony Barr (UCLA)
  • Aaron Donald (Pittsburgh)
  • C.J. Mosley (Alabama)


Predicted Winner: Aaron Donald (Pittsburgh)

After winning the Bronko Nagurski award as the nation’s top defensive player, per ESPN, Pittsburgh senior defensive tackle Aaron Donald has the inside lane for the clean sweep of the category as he is the favorite to take home the Chuck Bednarik Award as well. Donald averaged 2.2 tackles for loss per game, was ranked 10th in forced fumbles and 13th in sacks per game and won the 2013 ACC Defensive Player of the Year award.


Biletnikoff Award (Nation’s Outstanding Receiver)

  • Brandin Cooks (Oregon State)
  • Mike Evans (Texas A&M)
  • Sammy Watkins (Clemson)


Predicted Winner: Sammy Watkins (Clemson)

Clemson junior wide receiver Sammy Watkins is one of the most physically gifted players in the sport, and his performance in 2013 has likely earned him a spot as the nation’s top receiver. With 85 receptions, 1,237 yards and 10 touchdowns, Watkins proved to be the most consistent and reliable receiver in 2013 and deserves the Biletnikoff Award.


Nov 30, 2013; Gainesville, FL, USA; Florida State Seminoles kicker Roberto Aguayo (19) kicks an extra point against the Florida Gators during the second half against the Florida Gators at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. Florida State Seminoles defeated the Flor
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker)

  • Roberto Aguayo (Florida State)
  • Anthony Fera (Texas)
  • Marvin Kloss (South Florida)


Predicted Winner: Roberto Aguayo (Florida State)

The Florida State Seminoles found plenty of success this season in all facets of the game, but one of the most underrated aspects of the team’s attack was the stellar kicking of redshirt freshman Roberto Aguayo. After hitting 19 of 20 field goals this season and all 90 of his extra points, it’s clear which player deserves this award.


Ray Guy Award (Punter of the Year)

  • Tom Hornsey (Memphis)
  • Drew Kaser (Texas A&M)
  • Cody Webster (Purdue)


Predicted Winner: Drew Kaser (Texas A&M)

Texas A&M has not helped Drew Kaser’s cause by having one of the best offenses in the nation, but when the team does punt, Kaser has been dominant. Not only does his 48.0 yards-per-punt average lead the nation, but the sophomore also kicked the ball over 50 yards and inside the 20-yard line 14 times each.


Dec 7, 2013; Charlotte, NC, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston (5) runs the ball during the first quarter against the Duke Blue Devils at Bank of America Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports
Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year)

  • Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)
  • AJ McCarron (Alabama)
  • Jameis Winston (Florida State)


Predicted Winner: Jameis Winston (Florida State)

As a freshman, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston amassed an incredible 3,820 yards, 38 touchdowns and just 10 interceptions. Add in his team’s perfect season and berth in the BCS National Championship Game, and it is clear that Winston will take home the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien Award and the Heisman Trophy.


Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award (Nation’s Best Quarterback)

  • Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)
  • AJ McCarron (Alabama)
  • Jameis Winston (Florida State)


Predicted Winner: Jameis Winston (Florida State)

See Maxwell Award.


Oct 26, 2013; College Station, TX, USA; Texas A&M Aggies offensive linesman Jake Matthews (75) warms up against the Vanderbilt Commodores before the game at Kyle Field. Mandatory Credit: Thomas Campbell-USA TODAY Sports
Thomas Campbell-USA TODAY Sports

Outland Trophy (Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman)

  • Aaron Donald (Pittsburgh)
  • Jake Matthews (Texas A&M)
  • Cyril Richardson (Baylor)


Predicted Winner: Jake Matthews (Texas A&M)

Texas A&M was unable to find the same success it had last season, but the offensive line led by Jake Matthews was one of the program’s biggest strengths. Quarterback Johnny Manziel had another excellent season, and it was the time afforded to him by Matthews that made the biggest difference.


Jim Thorpe Award (Nation’s Best Defensive Back)

  • Darqueze Dennard (Michigan State)
  • Justin Gilbert (Oklahoma State)
  • Lamarcus Joyner (Florida State)


Predicted Winner: Darqueze Dennard (Michigan State)

After watching the Michigan State Spartans stun the Ohio State Buckeyes in the Big Ten Championship, it became clear that the best defensive back in the nation was Michigan State’s Darqueze Dennard. After amassing 59 tackles, 11 pass breakups and four interceptions this season, there are few defenders that have made the impact Dennard has in his time as a starter.


CLEMSON, SC - OCTOBER 12: Andre Williams #44 of the Boston College Eagles rushes during the game against the Clemson Tigers at Memorial Stadium on October 12, 2013 in Clemson, South Carolina. (Photo by Tyler Smith/Getty Images)
Tyler Smith/Getty Images

Doak Walker Award (Nation’s Premier Running Back)

  • Ka’Deem Carey (Arizona)
  • Bishop Sankey (Washington)
  • Andre Williams (Boston College)


Predicted Winner: Andre Williams (Boston College)

There are few players in college football history that can say they boasted a stat line similar to that of Heisman Trophy finalist and Boston College star Andre Williams. His 329 rushing attempts, 2,102 yards, 17 touchdowns and 175.2 yards per game make him one of the most dangerous backs in college history. Williams is a lock for the Doak Walker Award.


*All stats and information from or


    Baker Will Not Attend NFL Draft at AT&T Stadium

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Baker Will Not Attend NFL Draft at AT&T Stadium

    Scott Polacek
    via Bleacher Report

    Leach: Darnold, Rosen Should Have Stayed in School

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Leach: Darnold, Rosen Should Have Stayed in School

    via Diehards

    ESPN Analyst: Jackson Is Short, Should Play WR

    College Football logo
    College Football

    ESPN Analyst: Jackson Is Short, Should Play WR

    Scott Polacek
    via Bleacher Report

    Clemson Stays Atop Way-Too-Early Top 25

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Clemson Stays Atop Way-Too-Early Top 25

    Mark Schlabach