Stanford, Running Backs Headline B/R 2013 All Pac-12

Kyle Kensing@kensing45Contributor IMarch 16, 2017

Getty Images

History was made, records were set and a new gold standard was established for Pac-12 football throughout the conference's 2013 season. The playmakers responsible for an outstanding campaign deserve recognition with the regular season now in the books. But the question is, who stood out most in a standout year for the entire conference? 

Paring the candidates down to just a dozen on offense and defense, with four special teams selections, is no easy feat. It stands to reason that with record depth, evident in the conference's nine bowl bids, there would be a proportionately deep talent pool.    

At no position was the conference's collective depth more evident than at running back. While football at all levels becomes increasingly reliant on quarterbacks and the passing game, 2013 was the Year of the Running Back in the Pac-12. 

Two Pac-12 representatives—Arizona's Ka'Deem Carey and Washington's Bishop Sankey—were named finalists for the Doak Walker Award. 

Open-and-shut case for All Pac-12 running back selections then, right? Not exactly. 

Conference champion Stanford built its offensive game plan around hard-running senior Tyler Gaffney. Pac-12 South winner Arizona State's spread clicked with senior Marion Grice scoring touchdowns virtually at will. USC underwent a transformation with sophomore Buck Allen running buck wild in the season's second half, looking very much like the next great Trojans running back. 

TEMPE, AZ - OCTOBER 19:  Running back Marion Grice #1 of the Arizona State Sun Devils rushes the football past linebacker Princeton Fuimaono #37 of the Washington Huskies during the college football game at Sun Devil Stadium on October 19, 2013 in Tempe,
Christian Petersen/Getty Images

So how does one choose just two? In this case, one doesn'tGrice gets a nod as an all-purpose player, a fitting honor for a back as integral to the pass game as he was on the ground. 

While Gaffney and Allen are left off the below All Pac-12 team, their incredible seasons deserve recognition. And it's true across the board on defense, with players like Ben Gardner, Osahon Irabor, Alden Darby, Rashaad Reynolds, Tony Washington, Scott Crichton, Devon Kennard, Damante Horton, Marquis Flowers and more all having great years. 


Offensive Player of the Year: Arizona junior running back Ka'Deem Carey 

Carey rewrote Arizona's record book throughout the 2013 season. In surpassing 100 yards rushing in each of his 11 appearances, Carey  became the program's all-time leading ball-carrier. His 1,716 yards were fifth most in the nation, and his 156 per game ranked second. 

The praise Pac-12 coaches had for Carey was almost universal, but UCLA head coach Jim Mora summarized the back best, saying, "I don't think you stop him. He's too good." 


Defensive Player of the Year: Stanford senior linebacker Trent Murphy 

PALO ALTO, CA - NOVEMBER 07:  Quarterback Marcus Mariota #8 of the Oregon Ducks is sacked by linebacker Trent Murphy #93 of the Stanford Cardinal in the first quarter at Stanford Stadium on November 7, 2013 in Palo Alto, California.  (Photo by Ezra Shaw/G
Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

Stanford head coach David Shaw expressed his disappointment with senior linebacker Trent Murphy not winning the conference's Defensive Player of the Year honors, and it's tough to disagree. 

His 14 sacks led the nation. Murphy's 21.5 tackles for loss were third most in college football, and the 137 yards it cost opponents were the most. 

Arizona State defensive tackle Will Sutton received the award for a second straight year, and the leader of the Sun Devils' fearsome front seven was certainly deserving in his own right. But Murphy's tenacity off the edge set the tone for the conference's stingiest bunch, the nation's No. 1 overall sacking defense. 


Freshman of the Year: UCLA linebacker Myles Jack

First-year players made a mark around the conference, but none was as impacting as Myles Jack. The UCLA linebacker immediately established himself as one of the conference's most exciting defensive players. 

He turned heads in the final month on offense, however, filling in at running back as injuries mounted. And all he did in the last four games was set UCLA's benchmark for rushing touchdowns in 2013 with seven. 


Coach of the Year: Ed Orgeron, USC 

LOS ANGELES, CA - NOVEMBER 16:  USC Trojans interim head coach Ed Orgeron celebrates after a two-point conversion against the Stanford Cardinal in the first half at Los Angeles Coliseum on November 16, 2013 in Los Angeles, California.  (Photo by Jeff Gros
Jeff Gross/Getty Images

Taking a cue from Mora, who cast his Coach of the Year ballot for Orgeron, the outstanding work of the former USC interim head coach deserves particular praise. 

Orgeron got his second chance as a head coach under unenviable circumstances. The Trojans were 3-2 and coming off a 62-41 shellacking at Arizona State, which very well could have set the tone for the remainder of USC's season. 

Instead, Orgeron rallied his undermanned roster to a six-game winning streak in the conference that only stalled in the season finale. The Trojans went from floundering to flourishing thanks to Orgeron's emphasis on fun.  


All Pac-12 Offense

QB Marcus Mariota, Oregon  

RB Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona

RB Bishop Sankey, Washington 

WR Brandin Cooks, Oregon State

WR Paul Richardson, Colorado 

TE Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington 

AP Marion Grice, Arizona State 

OL David Yankey, Stanford

OL Marcus Martin, USC

OL Xavier Su'a-Filo, UCLA

OL Hroniss Grasu, Oregon 

OL Evan Finkenberg, Arizona State 



All Pac-12 Defense

DL Leonard Williams, USC 

DL Will Sutton, Arizona State

DL Trevor Reilly, Utah 

DL Hau’oli Kikaha, Washington 

LB Shayne Skov, Stanford

LB Anthony Barr, UCLA 

LB Trent Murphy, Stanford

LB Carl Bradford, Arizona State

DB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon

DB Ed Reynolds, Stanford 

DB Robert Nelson, Arizona State

DB Deone Bucannon, Washington State


All Pac-12 Special Teams

KR Ty Montgomery, Stanford

PR Nelson Agholor, USC 

K Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State 

P Tom Hackett, Utah 


Play of the Year: Kodi Whitfield's touchdown catch against UCLA 

Whitfield doesn't appear on the All Pac-12 team, but this play deserves special recognition. 


    Details Emerge About Events Leading Up to Hilinski's Death

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Details Emerge About Events Leading Up to Hilinski's Death

    Joseph Zucker
    via Bleacher Report

    Falk Opens Up on Hilinski: He Was an Amazing Person

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Falk Opens Up on Hilinski: He Was an Amazing Person

    Stefanie Loh
    via The Seattle Times

    Report: Grier (Hand) Cleared to Begin Throwing Again

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Report: Grier (Hand) Cleared to Begin Throwing Again

    via Diehards

    CFB Changes We'd Like to See This Offseason

    College Football logo
    College Football

    CFB Changes We'd Like to See This Offseason

    David Kenyon
    via Bleacher Report