Gus Malzahn, Tre Mason Headline 2013 AP All-SEC Team

Brian LeighFeatured ColumnistDecember 9, 2013

Dec 7, 2013; Atlanta, GA, USA;  Auburn Tigers running back Tre Mason (12) celebrates with head coach Gus Malzahn after winning the 2013 SEC Championship at Georgia Dome. Auburn defeated Missouri 59-42. Mandatory Credit: Daniel Shirey-USA TODAY Sports
Daniel Shirey-USA TODAY Sports

Auburn completed its turnaround from worst to first in the SEC on Saturday, beating Missouri in Atlanta and winning the conference championship, just one year removed from going 0-8 in league play.

The Tigers were officially announced as participants in the BCS National Championship Game on Sunday night, and the good news kept coming on Monday, when the AP named head coach Gus Malzahn the SEC Coach of the Year and running back Tre Mason the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

Offensive tackle Greg Robinson and defensive end Dee Ford joined Mason on the All-SEC first-team, which can be seen in its entirety here:

2013 AP All-SEC First Team
QB Johnny Manziel, A&MDE Dee Ford, AUB
RB Tre Mason, AUBDE Michael Sam, MIZZ
RB Jeremy Hill, LSUDE Jadeveon Clowney, USC*
WR Mike Evans, A&MDE Kony Ealy, MIZZ*
WR Jordan Matthews, VANDT Kelcy Qualres, USC
TE Arthur Lynch, UGALB C.J. Mosley, ALA
OL Jake Matthews, A&MLB Ramik Wilson, UGA
OL Cyrus Kouandjio, ALALB A.J. Johnson, TEN
OL Gabe Jackson, MSUCB E.J. Gaines, MIZZ
OL Greg Robinson, MSU*CB Vernon Hargreaves III, FLA
OL Justin Britt, MIZZ*S Cody Prewitt, MISS
OL Anthony Steen, ALA*S Kenny Ladler, VAN
C Travis Swanson, ARKP Cody Mandell, ALA
K Marshall Morgan, UGA
AP Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
Source: Associated Press

* denotes players who tied for a spot on the first team.

Mason was one of just three unanimous selections on the first team, and the only one on offense. Missouri defensive end Michael Sam, who was named conference Defensive Player of the Year, and Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley, a finalist for the Bednarik Award, were chosen unanimously on defense.

Former All-American Jadeveon Clowney tied for a spot on the first-team defense with Kony Ealy of Missouri, despite taking criticism for most of the season. His stats declined dramatically from his epic sophomore campaign, but the tape showed opposing offenses double- and triple-teaming him on almost every snap.

Nov 30, 2013; Columbia, SC, USA; South Carolina Gamecocks defensive end Jadeveon Clowney (7) celebrates a tackle for loss against the Clemson Tigers in the second quarter at Williams-Brice Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Blake-USA TODAY Sports
Jeff Blake-USA TODAY Sports

Clearly, AP voters took notice of those adjustments.

Auburn, Alabama and Missouri all tied with four total players on the first team, though Alabama might have a gripe about being snubbed at the safety positions. Cody Prewitt and Kenny Ladler both enjoyed fine seasons for their respective clubs, but Ha Ha Clinton-Dix and Landon Collins—both of whom made the second team—could each have made a strong case for inclusion.

In addition to the four players it had on the first team, Auburn boasted three second-team players in center Reese Dismukes, tight end C.J. Uzomah and cornerback/Iron Bowl hero Chris Davis.

Arkansas running back Alex Collins didn't make either the first or second team, but he was still named the SEC Freshman of the Year after topping 1,000 yards in his debut season.

Congrats to all who were recognized!