South Africa have never had the best of relationships with rain delays, so as the weather turned for the worse in Durban during the 2nd ODI against India, the Proteas would have been forgiven for harbouring some dark thoughts.
They bowled spinner JP Duminy to race through the overs at one end, while seamer Vernon Philander bowled off a shortened run-up to get to 20 overs before the rain became too heavy to continue play.
At the 20-over mark, of course, there would be enough play to constitute a match, with the Duckworth/Lewis formula coming into play to determine a winner.
Going into the final over, South Africa were miles ahead—they just needed to be sure the match would finish.
The penultimate ball before 20th over, Philander bowled a teasing delivery which drew India captain MS Dhoni's edge.
Wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock went instinctively for it, and took a quite superb one-handed catch at full stretch.
Normally, that would be cause for delight, but as you can see, this time the dismissal of ODI cricket's premier finisher caused concern.
Would the time taken to get a new batsman to the middle mean that the umpires would be tempted to call the players off?
As de Kock's reaction shows, he thought he'd made a serious error. His teammates were hardly any more confident.
Fortunately for him, however, not only did the next ball get bowled, but the rain eased just a touch to boot. South Africa were thus left on course for a commanding victory and with it the series win—and the weather could no longer save India.