Premier League Week 16 Predictions: Highlighting Most Thrilling Matchups

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Premier League Week 16 Predictions: Highlighting Most Thrilling Matchups
Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

All eyes are on Europe this week as England's giants look to seal their places in the next phase of the Champions League and Europa League, but it's not long before domestic action once again takes grip this weekend.

The Premier League campaign is currently in one of its busiest periods, with Manchester United's woes ongoing and the likes of Chelsea and Manchester City each seeing their share of speed bumps this past weekend. 

Week 16 offers up a fine selection of clashes between teams seeking a European finish come season's end; full predictions of the upcoming schedule are detailed ahead.

 

Premier League Week 16 Predictions
Fixture Date Time TV Info Prediction
Manchester City vs. Arsenal Saturday, Dec. 14 12:45 p.m. GMT/7:45 a.m. ET BT Sport 3-2
Cardiff City vs. West Brom Saturday, Dec. 14 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 1-1
Chelsea vs. Crystal Palace Saturday, Dec. 14 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 3-1
Everton vs. Fulham Saturday, Dec. 14 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 3-0
Newcastle United vs. Southampton Saturday, Dec. 14 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 2-2
West Ham vs. Sunderland Saturday, Dec. 14 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 2-1
Hull City vs. Stoke City Saturday, Dec. 14 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET Sky Sports 2-1
Aston Villa vs. Manchester United Sunday, Dec. 15 1:30 p.m. GMT/8:30 a.m. ET Sky Sports 1-3
Norwich City vs. Swansea City Sunday, Dec. 15 1:30 p.m. GMT/8:30 a.m. ET 0-2
Tottenham vs. Liverpool Sunday, Dec. 15 4 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET Sky Sports 1-2

PremierLeague.com

Manchester City vs. Arsenal

Two of the teams who continue to compete for the Premier League's highest honours, Manchester City and Arsenal, will meet at the Etihad Stadium knowing that the Gunners will still be leading the division come full time.

Who will come out victorious at the Etihad?

Submit Vote vote to see results

However, if Manuel Pellegrini's side are to keep the North Londoners within their reach, it's vital that opportunities such as these be taken with both hands.

So far this season, City have been imperious at home, averaging an incredible 4.14 goals per home game and conceding very few to strengthen their title bid further.

If any side are to dislodge the club at home, the Gunners have it within their locker to surmount their hosts, but after a week in Europe, seeking so much of a team in such a frantic part of their calendar might be too much to ask. 

Prediction: Manchester City 3-2 Arsenal

 

Newcastle United vs. Southampton

Both Newcastle and Southampton will be in high spirits after deposing each of the two Manchester giants over the weekend, the Magpies triumphing 1-0 at Old Trafford while the Saints managed to hold Manchester City to a 1-1 draw at St. Mary's.

Southampton's recent slump in form means that Mauricio Pochettino's men are currently three points behind their northeast opponents, who have been almost as fearsome away from home as they've been on the south coast.

That being said, it's a long trip to St. James' Park this coming Saturday, but the defensive unity that Southampton boast means that the European hopefuls will be able to restrain Newcastle where the Red Devils could not.

Prediction: Newcastle United 2-2 Southampton

 

Tottenham vs. Liverpool

Liverpool and Tottenham have each won their last two games on the bounce and head to White Hart Lane this weekend with good form behind them, making for a pivotal clash between the two top-four contenders.

Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

However, while Spurs' wins over Fulham and Sunderland have been impressive, the Reds put a collective nine goals past Norwich City and West Ham over the last week.

Brendan Rodgers' outfit continue to show a killer offensive touch that Andre Villas-Boas' don't have within their ranks right now, and it's a factor that will likely prove the difference between them.

As long as Luis Suarez can once again be relied upon in North London, Liverpool are likely to continue their march on the Premier League's top spots.

Prediction: Tottenham 1-2 Liverpool

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

Premier League

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.