ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year Nominations Revealed

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year Nominations Revealed
Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

James Anderson, Michael Clarke and Hashim Amla head the nominations for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards, the trio ranking as the only individuals put forward for both prizes.

As noted on the council's official website, six-man shortlists have been revealed for each accolade, both of which were won by Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara last year.

The veteran batsman will have to settle for just the one nomination across the aforementioned awards this season, although he does receive recognition alongside Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Shikhar Dhawan, Saeed Ajmal and Misbah ul-Haq for the ODI Cricketer of the Year, per The Independent.

ICC Cricketer of the Year: Nominations
Alastair Cook England
James Anderson England
Hashim Amla South Africa
Michael Clarke Australia
Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka
Mahendra Singh Dhoni India


English hopefuls are represented well throughout the nominations after the Three Lions' triumph in both the men's and women's Ashes series.

While the male side currently trail Australia in the latest encounter Down Under, Anderson's terrific display throughout the original series—including a 10-wicket haul during the first-Test victory at Trent Bridge—sees him represent Andy Flower's team across both of the main prizes. Cook's successful campaign as leader adds to his weight as ICC Cricketer of the Year.

Morne de Klerk/Getty Images

Joe Root is also in with a shot of becoming the Emerging Cricketer of the Year after breaking into the Ashes-winning side at the age of 22. Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole have been listed for the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year.

They are joined by Stafanie Taylor of South Africa, Australia's Meg Lanning and New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates.

England's Sarah Taylor is outlined for the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, where she is joined by her South African namesake and Bates, plus Shanel Daley and Deandra Dottin of the West Indies.

Test Cricketer of the Year: Nominations
James Anderson England
Hashim Amla South Africa
Dale Steyn South Africa
Michael Clarke Australia
Cheteshwar Pujara India
Ravichandran Ashwin India


Away from the English, Amla's strong showings in a difficult year of matches has been rewarded with recognition alongside Anderson in the Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year categories.

An average of 45 is down from the previous 12 months, as reported in Hassan Cheema's blog for ESPNcricinfo, but a heavy workload against tougher opponents can be outlined for the slight decline.

Clarke is the only other man to head up these two lists, despite failing to win the Ashes during the year.

Gallo Images/Getty Images

Australia's influential captain, who will feel in better spirits these past two weeks, plays his best cricket when he doesn't over-complicate his shots. He is a thinker, someone whose impact begins off the pitch, and can be the leading figure during Australia's current Ashes series.

As noted in the official report, a total of 12 countries are represented across all categories, signalling no outright dominance across the board this year. The winners will be announced on Dec. 14 in a specially designed television format.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.