UCLA's Myles Jack Wins Pac-12 Offensive and Defensive Freshman of the Year

Randy ChambersAnalyst IDecember 2, 2013

USA Today

Now that the Pac-12 has finished the regular season, it's time to start handing out the hardware. Some of the top players in the conference were recognized for their individual accomplishments on the field, per Pac-12.com.

And there were plenty of great seasons from some of the best players in the sport. 

The most impressive player on the list is UCLA linebacker Myles Jack. He received Freshman Defensive Player of the Year for his efforts but also took home Freshman Offensive Player of the Year after recently being used as a running back. Jack is fourth on the team with 71 tackles and also has 267 rushing yards and seven touchdowns in just four games.

As for the most obvious award, it was given to Arizona running back Ka’Deem Carey, who was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Despite missing the first game of the season, he still racked up 1,716 rushing yards and scored 18 total touchdowns. Also, his streak of 15 consecutive 100-yard performances is a conference record, and the longest of any FBS player in the last 10 years.

Defensive Player of the Year went to Arizona State defensive lineman Will Sutton. Statistically, he wasn't as impressive as he's been in the past, but his large frame and athleticism allowed others to shine. The Sun Devils have one of the top defenses in the Pac-12 because of a solid defensive front led by the senior defensive tackle.

Arizona State's Todd Graham also received Coach of the Year honors after leading the Sun Devils to the Pac-12 Championship Game. The school has won 10 games for the first time since 2007.

The Pac-12 first-team offense and defense can be viewed below:

Pac-12 First Team Offense
QBMarcus Mariota, So., Oregon
RBKa’Deem Carey, Jr., Arizona
RBBishop Sankey, Jr., Washington
WRBrandin Cooks, Jr., Oregon State
WRPaul Richardson, Jr., Colorado
TEChris Coyle, Grad., Arizona State
OLEvan Finkenberg, Grad., Arizona State
OLHroniss Grasu, Jr., Oregon
OLMarcus Martin, Jr., USC
OLXavier Su’a-Filo, Jr., UCLA
OLDavid Yankey, Sr., Stanford
Pac-12 First Team Defense
DLBen Gardner, Sr., Stanford
DLTrevor Reilly, Sr., Utah
DLWill Sutton, Sr., Arizona Stat
DLLeonard Williams, So., USC
LBAnthony Barr, Sr., UCLA
LBTrent Murphy, Sr., Stanford
LBShayne Skov, Sr., Stanford
DBDeone Bucannon, Sr., Washington State
DBAlden Darby, Sr., Arizona State
DBIfo Ekpre-Olomu, Jr., Oregon
DBRobert Nelson, Sr., Arizona State
DBEd Reynolds, Sr., Stanford
Pac-12 First Team Specialists
PKZane Gonzalez, Fr., Arizona State
PTom Hackett, So., Utah
RSTy Montgomery, Jr., Stanford
STSoma Vainuku, So., USC

All well-deserving players, and it's nice to see Paul Richardson and Deone Bucannon get the respect they deserve. They may not play on winning teams, but they played their tails off this season and are easily some of the best players at their positions. 

Key players who made the second-team include USC safety Dion Bailey, Oregon defensive lineman Taylor Hart and Stanford wide receiver Ty Montgomery. 

Congrats to all.