Spain World Cup Draw 2014: Group, Fixtures and Roster Predictions

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Spain World Cup Draw 2014: Group, Fixtures and Roster Predictions
David Ramos/Getty Images

On the shortlist of teams capable of winning this year's World Cup, Spain stands tall atop all other contenders.

The two-time defending European champions and defending World Cup champs are deep, talented and employ a tiki-taka system that has guided them to success in the past. They'll leave players off the final roster that would start for more than a few countries.      

Still, there are chinks in the armor. The core is aging, the team was physically manhandled by Brazil in the Confederations Cup final, losing 3-0, and there are just enough questions at several positions to make Spain appear more vulnerable than they've been in recent years.

Below, we'll review the team's group, fixtures and roster now that the World Cup draw is complete as they attempt to defend their title.

 

Group

Photo courtesy of Bleacher Report

Group B
Team FIFA Ranking
Spain 1
Netherlands 9
Chile 15
Australia 59

http://www.fifa.com/worldranking/

 

Schedule

Photo courtesy of Bleacher Report

Spain Group Fixtures
Date Time Opponent
June 13 3 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. BST Netherlands
June 18 6 p.m. ET, 11 p.m. BST Chile
June 23 Noon ET, 5 p.m. BST Australia

 

Roster Predictions

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Formation: 4-5-1

 

Starting 11

GK: Victor Valdes 

How far will Spain advance?

Submit Vote vote to see results

RB: Daniel Carvajal 

CB: Sergio Ramos

CB: Gerard Pique

LB: Jordi Alba

DM: Sergio Busquets

CM: Andres Iniesta

CM: Xavi

RM: Cesc Fabregas

LM: Pedro

F: Alvaro Negredo 

 

Projected Reserves

David Ramos/Getty Images

GK: Iker Casillas, Pepe Reina

DF: Nacho Monreal, Raul Albiol, Alvaro Arbeloa

MF: Jesus Navas, David Silva, Juan Mata, Isco, Xabi Alonso

F: Diego Costa, David Villa

 

Other Possibilities

Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

GK: David de Gea

DF: Carles Puyol, Juanfran, Marc Bartra, Cesar Azpilicueta

MF: Thiago Alcantara, Koke, Mario Suarez, Javi Martinez, Javi Garcia, Santi Cazorla, Asier Illarramendi

F: Roberto SoldadoMichuFernando Torres

 

Roster Notes

David Ramos/Getty Images

Here's what we know: Players like Iniesta, Fabregas, Xavi, Busquets, Alonso, Pedro, Ramos, Pique and Alba will be on this team, no questions asked, and will all likely start.

After that, however, it gets trickier.

Will it be Valdes or Casillas in goal? With several promising but few must-start options at forward, which man will Spain employ to lead the line? Will new addition Costa, who has been on fire for Atletico Madrid, continue his torrid scoring pace for the Spaniards?

And with a glut of promising midfield options, will players like Navas, Silva, Mata or Isco—all of whom would start for most countries—see much action?

Most of Spain's questions are the envy of the rest of the world, of course. Spain's midfield alone is worth drooling over, and if none of the forwards pan out, the team is talented enough to play Fabregas as a false nine.

These are cosmetic issues, not functional ones.

 

Follow TRappaRT on Twitter

Load More Stories

Follow Spain (National Football) from B/R on Facebook

Follow Spain (National Football) from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Out of Bounds

Spain (National Football)

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.