Updates on Jose Carmona's Condition After KO Loss to Jorge Arce

Tyler Conway@jtylerconwayFeatured ColumnistNovember 18, 2013

Colombian boxer Jose Carmona is currently in critical but stable condition after needing two brain surgeries to repair damage following his knockout loss to Jorge Arce on Saturday night.

While it's unclear what Carmona's long-term prognosis is, doctors indicated they will have a better idea of what they're dealing with in the next two days, per FightNews.com. Arce stopped Carmona in the eighth round of their featherweight bout in San Luis Potosi, Mexico, after taking repeated blows to the head throughout.   

Carmona was having trouble responding after the referee stopped the bout, and he was carried out on a stretcher and diagnosed with brain injuries that resulted in two surgeries. He'll be held at the local hospital while doctors wait to see how he responds.     

Carmona was not originally scheduled to even be on the card for Saturday night, having taken the place of William Prado. According to ESPN's Dan RafaelGiovanni Caro was supposed to step in for Prado, who dropped out after being in a motorcycle accident, but Caro also dropped out for reasons that remain unclear.

It wasn't until the Tuesday before the fight that Carmona was announced as Arce's opponent. The 24-year-old Carmona was viewed as a serious contender to take down Arce, the legendary Mexican boxer who has won titles across four divisions in his career. Arce was fighting for the first time since announcing his retirement a little less than a year ago. 

An unsurprisingly sloppy fight ensued, with the more prepared Arce dominating the overmatched Carmona until the referee called it off.

 

Follow Tyler Conway on Twitter:


Related

    Broadcast Legend on Mission to End Bipolar Stigma

    Boxing logo
    Boxing

    Broadcast Legend on Mission to End Bipolar Stigma

    Andreas Hale
    via Bleacher Report

    Inoue set to join WBSS bantamweight tournament

    Boxing logo
    Boxing

    Inoue set to join WBSS bantamweight tournament

    Bad Left Hook
    via Bad Left Hook

    David Lemieux Sends Achour Down, Punishes Him For Decision

    Boxing logo
    Boxing

    David Lemieux Sends Achour Down, Punishes Him For Decision

    BoxingScene.com
    via BoxingScene.com

    Jerwin Ancajas Decisions Jonas Sultan, Retains IBF Title

    Boxing logo
    Boxing

    Jerwin Ancajas Decisions Jonas Sultan, Retains IBF Title

    BoxingScene.com
    via BoxingScene.com