Sri Lanka vs. New Zealand, 3rd ODI: Scorecard and Recap from Dambulla

Lee WalkerUK Managing EditorNovember 16, 2013

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 28:  Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka plays a shot during game two of the Twenty20 International series between Australia and Sri Lanka at Melbourne Cricket Ground on January 28, 2013 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Robert Prezioso/Getty Images)
Robert Prezioso/Getty Images

Sri Lanka beat New Zealand by 36 runs in the third one-day international in Dambulla to tie the series 1-1.

The hosts made 211 for eight in a rain-reduced 33 overs, forcing the Black Caps to chase a Duckworth-Lewis adjusted target of 216.

NZ were 126 for six in their reply after 25 overs when the umpires took the players off for bad light with Sri Lanka declared the winners.

The Kiwis won the second game in Hambantota on Tuesday off the final ball of a rain-reduced 23-over clash after the opening match was washed out at the same venue last Sunday.

Sri Lanka 211-8 (33 overs)
DPMD Jayawardenec †Ronchi b McCullum466546
TM Dilshanc †Ronchi b McClenaghan538450
KC Sangakkara† b McCullum032
HDRL Thirimannec Latham b Mills234729
AD Mathews*c †Ronchi b McClenaghan031
LD Chandimallbw b Neesham153319
NLTC Pererac Latham b Ellis82214
KMDN Kulasekarac Mills b Neesham142917
SMSM Senanayakenot out212414
HMRKB Herathnot out17117
Extras(b 1, lb 3, w 9, nb 1)14
KD Mills61351
MJ McClenaghan70342
AM Ellis60511
AP Devcich30310
RJ Nicol20170
NL McCullum40132
JDS Neesham50262

After play was delayed by 90 minutes, the hosts made a strong start with veterans Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan putting on 91 for the opening wicket.

Nathan McCullum removed Jayawardene for 46 in the 15th over and, two balls later, clean-bowled key man Kumar Sangakkara.

Mitchell McClenaghan then had Dilshan caught behind for 53 and removed captain Angelo Matthews in the same fashion, caught by keeper Luke Ronchi, first ball.

However, Sri Lanka scored 111 in the final 15 overs with contributions all the way down the order.

New Zealand 126-6 (25 overs)
TWM Lathamlbw b Senanayake919
AP Devcichc Herath b Kulasekara510
RJ Nicolst †Sangakkara b Herath112
GD Elliott b Herath311
C Munro b Senanayake14
L Ronchi†c Senanayake b Herath2329
JDS Neeshamnot out4246
NL McCullumnot out3519
Extras(lb 1, w 6)7
SMSM Senanayake51142
KMDN Kulasekara41201
AD Mathews1040
HMRKB Herath60253
TM Dilshan60310
SL Malinga30310

The Black Caps’ reply started in catastrophic circumstances as they slumped to 26 for five in the 11th over with the top order all going in single figures.

Ronchi made 23 before becoming Rangana Herath’s third victim, and although James Nessham and McCullum put on an unbroken 63 for the seventh wicket, New Zealand were still behind the required run rate when the officials declared the light too dark to continue.