IPL 2014: Ranking the Most Successful Teams in IPL History

« Prev
1 of 10
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
IPL 2014: Ranking the Most Successful Teams in IPL History
Ritam Banerjee/Getty Images
The eyes have it: former IPL commissioner Lalit Modi

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been with us now for the past five years in all its different guises and formats, with there being five different franchises to have won the competition in its six seasons. But which side has been the most successful though in the tournament’s history?

Well that is what we intend to find out right now by using a metric system to rank all the competing teams, with the winners being awarded 10 points, runners-up get five points and semi-finalists get three points.

Meanwhile, there will also be a solitary point given for the side that won the third-place play-off contest, which only took place in the 2010 edition. We have also decided to hand out two bonus points for any franchise that went on to win the Champions League Twenty20, with the runners-up in that spin-off event also receiving one point.

And just to be clear, when the IPL changed its format two years ago to start incorporating a new-look play-off stage, the two sides that failed to make it into the final are to be considered the same as the losing semi-finalists in the 2008-10 versions of the tournament, and so they will also get three points.

And in the event of two franchises being level on points, then they will remain that way unless one of the sides in question has actually won either of the two competitions in question more times than their rival has.

OK, so now that the ranking system has been explained, we can start revealing the top nine most successful teams in the history of the IPL.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.