Pakistan vs. South Africa, 1st T20: Scorecard, Recap and More from Dubai

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterNovember 13, 2013

ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES - NOVEMBER 06: Imran Tahir of South Africa reacts after a delivery during the third One Day International between Pakistan and South Africa at Sheikh Zayed Stadium on November 06, 2013 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)
Francois Nel/Getty Images

South Africa's dominance over Pakistan continued with a crushing nine-wicket win in the first T20 in Dubai.

Pakistan's batting had all but cost them the contest—they limped to 98-9 from their 20 overs—and South Africa duly made light work of the run chase, wrapping up the victory with 33 balls to spare.

There were precious few reasons for optimism in Pakistan's batting—Dale Steyn and Lonwabo Tsotsobe at one point had reduced the Pakistanis to 4-3—and only Umar Akmal's 41-ball 49 helped avoid an even more humiliating scoreline.

Steyn eventually finished with figures of 4-0-15-3, while Tsotsobe sent down two maidens, with his two wickets costing just nine runs.

The chase was executed in cruise control, with the loss of Hashim Amla for 13 runs no obstacle to the Proteas' plans.

Quinton de Kock struck two sixes in his 38-ball 48, while Faf du Plessis was unbeaten on 37 by the time the target was reached.

The two sides meet again in the second and final match of the series, but it is hard to see where Pakistan can recover after a 4-1 mauling in the ODIs and a heavy loss in this encounter.

Pakistan 98-9 (20 overs)
Ahmed Shehzadc Amla b Tsotsobe035
Sohaib Maqsoodc †de Kock b Steyn484
Shahid Afridic McLaren b Tsotsobe102813
Mohammad Hafeez*c †de Kock b Steyn022
Shoaib Malikst †de Kock b Imran Tahir123523
Umar Akmal†run out (†de Kock)495541
Abdul Razzaqc Miller b McLaren102116
Sohail Tanvirst †de Kock b Imran Tahir033
Abdur RehmanNot Out71712
Saeed Ajmal b Steyn021
LL Tsotsobe4292
DW Steyn40153
R McLaren40291
WD Parnell40270
Imran Tahir40172
South Africa 99-1 (14.3 Overs)
HM Amla b Sohail Tanvir13109
Q de Kock†not out485238
F du Plessis*not out374140
Mohammad Hafeez30240
Mohammad Irfan2070
Sohail Tanvir20211
Saeed Ajmal40120
Shahid Afridi2.30160
Abdur Rehman10180