Pakistan vs. South Africa, 4th ODI: Scorecard, Recap and More from Abu Dhabi

BR-UK StaffFeatured Columnist IVNovember 8, 2013

CARDIFF, WALES - JUNE 14: Dale Steyn (R) of South Africa accepts the congratulations from team mates after capturing the wicket of Johnson Charles of West Indies during the ICC Champions Trophy Group B match between West Indies and South Africa at the SWALEC Stadium on June 14, 2013 in Cardiff, Wales.  (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)
Michael Steele/Getty Images

South Africa beat Pakistan by 28 runs in the 4th one day international of their series in Abu Dhabi on Friday, to take a unassailable 3-1 lead in the series.

Batting first, South Africa reached 266-5 from their 50 overs, with Quinton de Kock scoring a century to lead the charge.

De Kock was eventually dismissed for 112, which came from 135 balls and included nine fours and a six. He shared an opening stand of 87 with Hashim Mahomed Amla, who was the second-biggest contributor to the South Africa cause with an innings of 46 from 50 balls.

Junaid Khan and Mohammad Hafeez took two wickets apiece for Pakistan.

Full South Africa scorecard here:

South Africa
De Kockc Misbah-ul-Haq b Junaid Khan112
Amlab Mohammad Hafeez46
Du Plessisc Saeed Ajmal b Mohammad Irfan10
De Villiersc Mohammad Hafeez b Junaid Khan30
Millerlbw b Mohammad Hafeez5
Duminynot out25
McLarennot out28

Pakistan's reply got off to a fine start. Ahmed Shehzad and Mohammad Hafeez put on 74 for the first wicket and the early signs were good Pakistan could chase down their target.

Three quick wickets meant a slip to 86-3, but a strong partnership between Sohaib Maqsood and Misbah-ul-Haq steadied the ship and saw both men bring up half-centuries. 

Dale Steyn would ultimately bring a close to both of their innings, with the South African opener taking 5-25 in a devastating 10-over spell to effectively crush the Pakistan challenge.

Pakistan survived into the last of their 50 overs, but by the time Ryan McLaren took their last wicket hopes of victory were already extinguished.

Ahmed Shehzadrun out43
Mohammad Hafeezb Imran Tahir33
Sohaib Maqsoodc de Villiers b Steyn56
Asad Shafiqc Morkel b Tsotsobe1
Misbah-ul-Haqc de Villiers b Steyn65
Sohail Tanvirc Amla b Steyn1
Umar Akmalc Morkel b Steyn22
Shahid Afridirun out3
Saeed Ajmalb Steyn0
Mohammad Irfannot out2
Junaid Khanb McLaren4

The teams go next to Sharjah Stadium in the United Arab Emirates for the fifth match in the series.

All stats from ESPNCricinfo.