India vs. West Indies, 1st Test: Scorecard and Day 3 Recap as Shami Shines

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
India vs. West Indies, 1st Test: Scorecard and Day 3 Recap as Shami Shines
Morne de Klerk/Getty Images

India completed victory in the first Test inside three days after skittling out the West Indies in Kolkata.

The tourists were dismissed for just 168 in their second innings as they slumped to a defeat of an innings and 51 runs in the first match of the two-Test series.

Mohammed Shami completed a memorable debut by taking five for 47 to finish with match figures of nine for 118.

India 1st innings 453 (129.4 overs)
Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls
RG Sharma lbw b Permaul 177 301
R Ashwin b Shillingford 124 210
B Kumar c Gayle b Shillingford 12 20
Mohammed Shami st †Ramdin b Permaul 1 7
PP Ojha not out 2 6
Extras (b 4, lb 8, w 1, nb 3) 16
Bowling O M R W
TL Best 17 0 71 1
SS Cottrell 18 3 72 1
S Shillingford 55 9 167 6
V Permaul 23.4 2 67 2
DJG Sammy 12 1 52 0
MN Samuels 4 0 12 0


Resuming on 354 for six in their second innings, the hosts added another 99 runs in the morning to hold a first-innings lead of 219.

Ravichandran Ashwin, who resumed on 92, completed his second Test century when he pushed Tino Best through the covers for a single.

Debutant partner Rohit Sharma eventually fell for 177 when he was trapped lbw by Veerasammy Permaul to end a record Indian seventh-wicket partnership.

Shane Shillingford then swiftly ended Ashwin’s vigil at 124 and finished with figures of six for 167.

The West Indies started brightly in their reply, with Chris Gayle scoring the opening 33 runs before being caught at square leg by Virat Kohli off Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The total had moved to 101 without further loss before the tourists capitulated, losing nine wickets for just 67 runs.

West Indies 2nd innings 168 (54.1 overs)
Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls
CH Gayle c Kohli b Kumar 33 35
KOA Powell lbw b Ashwin 36 83
DM Bravo c Sharma b Ashwin 37 78
MN Samuels lbw b Mohammed Shami 4 5
S Chanderpaul not out 31 60
D Ramdin† c Vijay b Mohammed Shami 1 16
DJG Sammy* b Mohammed Shami 8 29
S Shillingford b Mohammed Shami 0 2
V Permaul run out (†Dhoni) 0 1
TL Best c Ojha b Ashwin 3 9
SS Cottrell b Mohammed Shami 5 7
Extras (lb 10) 10
Bowling O M R W
B Kumar 6 1 20 1
Mohammed Shami 13.1 0 47 5
R Ashwin 19 2 46 3
PP Ojha 13 3 27 0
SR Tendulkar 3 0 18 0


Ashwin continued his fine day by trapping opener Kieran Powell for 36 and having Darren Bravo caught at point for 37.

Shami had trapped Marlon Samuels for four in-between, and the 23-year-old seamer then picked up three wickets in four balls before Permaul was caught napping out of his crease and was run out by home captain MS Dhoni.

The ever-dependable Shivnarine Chanderpaul could only watch on at the other end as Ashwin had Tino Best caught at deep mid-wicket before Shami completed the rout by clean bowling final man Sheldon Cottrell.

Team StreamTM


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.