NHL Defends No-Goal Call in Sharks-Sabres OT

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NHL Defends No-Goal Call in Sharks-Sabres OT
Nick Lust/Getty Images

The referees got it right last night in San Jose, according to the NHL's department of hockey operations. Senior VP Mike Murphy, in speaking with CBC's Elliotte Friedman, said referee Mike Leggo made the correct call in overtime on Tommy Wingels' shot — which looked to cross the line well before the whistle — under rule 78.5, the infamous “intent to blow” rule.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Olympics

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.