Bangladesh vs. New Zealand, 2nd Test: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info, Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistOctober 20, 2013

LEEDS, ENGLAND - MAY 27:  New Zealand wicketkeeper Brendon McCullum (r) congratulates bowler Kane Williamson after he had dismissed Cook during day four of 2nd Investec Test match between England and New Zealand at Headingley on May 27, 2013 in Leeds, England.  (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)
Stu Forster/Getty Images

Bangladesh and New Zealand continue to battle it out in their under-the-radar Test series. After the first Test resulted in a draw, Bangladesh have a chance to make history. If the hosts manage a win, it will be their first victory against New Zealand ever. The Black Caps, meanwhile, are desperate for a win.

What: Bangladesh vs. New Zealand, second Test

Where: Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

When: Monday, 21 October 2013, 4:30 a.m. BST 

Live Stream/TV info: New Zealand SKY Sport 3

Weather: Accuweather says the weather news is not good. There will be loads of thunderstorms around that will be significant enough to interrupt play. Teams will have to box clever about targets and strategies if they want to avoid another draw.



After the result of the first Test, Bangladesh are probably the far happier side, with a draw being seen as a positive for them. New Zealand will be irked that they failed to get a result out of the first match and probably be a bit aggrieved about the way their batsmen performed in the second innings of the Test.

Bangladesh will be patting themselves on the back, especially after amassing over 400 runs in their first innings. Bangladesh responded well and notched up 501 in their first innings, which is only the third time they have passed 500 in three years.

New Zealand's pace bowlers applied themselves well in difficult conditions, but it's their spinners who let them down. The inexperienced Ish Sodhiwho made his debut in the first Testdid manage two wickets, but he struggled to contain the Bangladeshi batsmen, who are very used to playing spin.

Bangladesh's twirlers were far more restrictive, and that's something the Black Caps' batsmen will have to counter. Although there can be few negative things said about the battingbarring a few mishaps in the second inningscredit has to go to the inexperienced Bangladesh side, who really got stuck in.

For New Zealand, perhaps a more aggressive approach will need to be adopted, especially if they are pushing for a result.

It's all set up for an interesting duel. Will Bangladesh be simply content with a draw, or will they be striving for a positive result? Similarly, are New Zealand happy to leave with a drawn series, or do they want to prove they are better than that?

Add to that the weather dilemma and it might actually be a Test worth tuning into, even if you're a neutral.


Key men


Sohag Gazi took a hat-trick, the first by a Bangladeshi spinner since Alok Kapali's achievement in 2003 against Pakistan. A great feat for a young spinner, who will no doubt be brimming with confidence going into the second Test.


New Zealand

Brendon McCullum flopped in both innings, failing to pass 30. If New Zealand hope to notch up a big total, it will be up to the skipper to have a proper whack right from the get go. Aggression is McCullum's natural game, so it shouldn't be too much to ask for from the feisty batsman.


Possible changes

New Zealand might want to fiddle with their bowling attack and bring in Neil Wagner or Mark Gillespie in place of Bruce Martin. Corey Anderson had a forgettable debut Test, but he will most likely keep his place in the team ahead of Dean Brownlie.

For Bangladesh, changes are unlikely, unless there is an injury. Robiul Islam is the only player who could possibly miss out through fitness.




Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Mahmudullah, Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Naeem Islam, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain, Mominul Haque, Marshall Ayub, Robiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain 


New Zealand 

McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Anton Devcich, Grant Elliott, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson.