Picking a World Cup All-Time XI

« Prev
1 of 13
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Picking a World Cup All-Time XI
Ben Radford/Getty Images

Many of world football’s most memorable performances have been enacted on its most prestigious stage.

This is hardly surprising, given that the best footballers on the planet have typically saved their best moments for the biggest audiences.

Over the next few slides, we’ll put forward a World Cup All-Time XI for your consumption—set out in a 4-3-2-1 formation and including a full bench that will bring the squad to its maximum number of 23.

The only criteria is that the players considered had to have played in a World Cup finals, and as such our team is not so much a “Best-Ever XI,” but a side selected from a single, albeit exalted, competition.

So without further adieu, we begin with the goalkeeper.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

World Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.