CLT20 Final: Rajasthan Royals vs. Mumbai Indians Scorecard, Recap and More

Mark Patterson@@MarkPattersonBRUK Staff WriterOctober 6, 2013


The Mumbai Indians won the Champions League Twenty20 after holding off the previously-unbeaten Rajasthan Royals in the final in Delhi by 33 runs.

The Indians, who featured Sachin Tendulkar, wrapped up a double after winning this year's IPL in the spring.

Batting first, Mumbai piled on 202 for six wickets from their 20 overs, and Rajasthan, despite a bright start, could not overhaul it.

The Mumbai Indians became the first multiple winners of the trophy, having also beaten Indian opposition in the shape of the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2011 final.

Their batting set up the win in a true team effort, with no batsman making a half-century. 

Instead, there were plenty of cameos: Dwayne Smith topped the scoring with 44 at the top of the order, Rohit Sharma added 33 from 14 balls, and in the same number of deliveries, Glenn Maxwell finished the innings off with 37.

Chasing 203 looked like a stiff challenge, but the Royals made light of it at first.

Kusal Perera fell early, but thereafter, Ajinkya Rahane (65 from 47) and Sanju Samson (60 from 33) powered Rajasthan into command.

Once they fell, there was nothing else. Harbhajan Singh picked up four wickets as Mumbai squeezed the innings, with no other batsmen passing 10 runs.

In the end, they crumbled from 117 for one to 169 all out, with seven balls left unfaced. Thus, Mumbai were left to celebrate their double.

Here is the scorecard as given by the official CLT20 website:

Mumbai Indians Innings (Run Rate: 10.10)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Dwayne Smithb Pravin Tambe4439112.8251
 Sachin Tendulkarb Shane Watson1513115.3830
 Ambati Rayudub Pravin Tambe2924120.8340
 Rohit Sharmac James Faulkner b Rahul Shukla3314235.7132
 Kieron Pollardb James Faulkner1510150.0011
 Glenn Maxwellrun out (Pravin Tambe)3714264.2842
 Dinesh KarthikNOT OUT155300.0002
 Harbhajan SinghNOT OUT72350.0001
Extras(nb 1, w 4, lb 2)7    
Total(6 wickets; 20/20 overs)202 
Not Called to Bat
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Rishi Dhawan
Pragyan Ojha
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    James Faulkner446111.5010
    Shane Watson330110.008
    Rahul Shukla449112.255
    Kevon Cooper440010.005
    Pravin Tambe41924.7511
    Stuart Binny116016.001
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/35 (Tendulkar, 4.3 ov)2/77 (Smith, 11.3 ov)
    3/104 (Rayudu, 13.4 ov)4/140 (Pollard, 16.2 ov)
    5/152 (Sharma, 17.1 ov)6/193 (Maxwell, 19.3 ov)
Rajasthan Royals Innings (Run Rate: 8.97)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Kushal Janith Pererarun out (Dwayne Smith)84200.0020
 Ajinkya Rahanec Dwayne Smith b Harbhajan Singh6547138.2952
 Sanju Samsonc Harbhajan Singh b Pragyan Ojha6033181.8144
 Shane Watsonc Kieron Pollard b Harbhajan Singh88100.0001
 Stuart Binnyb Harbhajan Singh108125.0001
 Dishant Yagnikc Dinesh Karthik b Kieron Pollard65120.0010
 Kevon Cooperst Dinesh Karthik b Harbhajan Singh42200.0010
 Rahul Dravidb Nathan Coulter-Nile1250.0000
 James FaulknerNOT OUT2366.6600
 Rahul Shuklac Dwayne Smith b Kieron Pollard010.0000
 Pravin Tambec Dwayne Smith b Kieron Pollard010.0000
Extras(nb 1, w 1, lb 3)5    
Total(All out; 18.5/20 overs)169 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Glenn Maxwell110010.003
    Rishi Dhawan334011.336
    Harbhajan Singh43248.009
    Nathan Coulter-Nile333111.002
    Pragyan Ojha42616.508
    Kieron Pollard3.53138.086
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/8 (Janith Perera, 0.4 ov)2/117 (Samson, 11.5 ov)
    3/137 (Watson, 14.3 ov)4/155 (Rahane, 16.1 ov)
    5/155 (Binny, 16.4 ov)6/159 (Cooper, 16.6 ov)
    7/163 (Dravid, 17.4 ov)8/169 (Yagnik, 18.2 ov)
    9/169 (Shukla, 18.3 ov)10/169 (Tambe, 18.5 ov)