CLT20 Semifinal: Rajasthan Royals vs. Chennai Super Kings Scorecard, Recap, More

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterOctober 4, 2013


Rajasthan Royals became the first side to reach the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 semi-finals with an 14-run win over Chennai Super Kings in Jaipur.

They will meet the winners of Trinidad and Tobago's match with Mumbai Indians in the second semi-final, and will bring an unbeaten tournament record into the Sunday showpiece.

Batting first after being put in by CSK at the toss, the Royals made 159 for eight from the 20 overs, with Ajinkya Rahane top-scoring with a 56-ball 70.

Shane Watson contributed with a knock of 32, but Chennai struck at regular intervals to keep themselves in the game.

It looked the kind of score that would make for a competitive chase, but the Super Kings' middle order fluffed their lines and could not recover.

After eight overs they had a platform, albeit an unspectacular one, of 51 for two. But Subramaniam Badrinath, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo and Ravi Jadeja came and went for single-figure scores as Rajasthan tightened their grip on the tie, and Suresh Raina's departure for 29 sealed the shocking collpase at 72 for seven.

Pravin Tambe was the star with the ball, his four overs costing just 10 runs and yielding three wickets.

There was a rally—Ravi Ashwin and Chris Morris combined for a stand of 73 runs in 50 balls—it made the scoreline far closer than it had once seemed.

But the damage had been done, and the Super Kings, who won the tournament in 2010, were out.

Here is the scorecard as given by the official CLT20 website:

Rajasthan Royals Innings (Run Rate: 7.95)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Rahul Dravidb Chris Morris5862.5010
 Ajinkya Rahanec Mohit Sharma b Dwayne Bravo7056125.0062
 Kevon Cooperc Subramaniam Badrinath b Mohit Sharma147200.0021
 Sanju Samsonc Ravichandran Ashwin b Jason Holder1110110.0010
 Shane Watsonc Jason Holder b Chris Morris3223139.1340
 Brad Hodgeb Jason Holder119122.2210
 Stuart Binnyc Ravindra Jadeja b Dwayne Bravo55100.0000
 Dishant Yagnikc Jason Holder b Dwayne Bravo010.0000
 James FaulknerNOT OUT11100.0000
 Rahul ShuklaNOT OUT11100.0000
Extras(nb 1, w 7, lb 1)9    
Total(8 wickets; 20/20 overs)159 
Not Called to Bat
Pravin Tambe
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Ravindra Jadeja31906.337
    Mohit Sharma43719.259
    Chris Morris42526.2511
    Jason Holder43528.756
    Dwayne Bravo42636.504
    Ravichandran Ashwin116016.001
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/14 (Dravid, 2.4 ov)2/29 (Cooper, 3.6 ov)
    3/62 (Samson, 8.4 ov)4/121 (Watson, 15.1 ov)
    5/149 (Hodge, 18.1 ov)6/155 (Rahane, 19.1 ov)
    7/157 (Yagnik, 19.3 ov)8/157 (Binny, 19.4 ov)
Chennai Super Kings Innings (Run Rate: 7.25)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Michael Husseyrun out (Kevon Cooper)91181.8110
 Murali Vijayrun out (Sanju Samson)141687.5020
 Suresh Rainac sub (Menaria) b Pravin Tambe2923126.0840
 Subramaniam Badrinathst Dishant Yagnik b Pravin Tambe81080.0010
 MS Dhonilbw Rahul Shukla3742.8500
 Dwayne Bravolbw Pravin Tambe3560.0000
 Ravindra Jadejac Dishant Yagnik b Shane Watson2450.0000
 Chris MorrisNOT OUT2617152.9430
 Ravichandran Ashwinc Stuart Binny b James Faulkner4628164.2833
 Jason HolderNOT OUT00 00
Extras(nb 1, w 3, lb 1)5    
Total(8 wickets; 20/20 overs)145 
Not Called to Bat
Mohit Sharma
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Stuart Binny1202.004
    James Faulkner43619.009
    Shane Watson43418.5010
    Rahul Shukla32117.005
    Kevon Cooper441010.256
    Pravin Tambe41032.5014
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/13 (Hussey, 2.5 ov)2/33 (Vijay, 5.4 ov)
    3/51 (Badrinath, 8.1 ov)4/54 (Dhoni, 9.2 ov)
    5/61 (Bravo, 10.4 ov)6/70 (Jadeja, 11.6 ov)
    7/72 (Raina, 12.3 ov)8/145 (Ashwin, 19.4 ov)