CLT20: Otago Volts vs. Rajasthan Royals Scorecard, Recap and Standings

Mark Patterson@@MarkPattersonBRUK Staff WriterOctober 1, 2013


The Otago Volts' unbeaten run at the Champions League T20 came to an end after masterful innings from Brad Hodge helped the Rajasthan Royals sneak a four-wicket win.

Having laboured to 139 for seven wickets from their 20 overs, it looked like Otago would struggle to defend their total.

Despite a relatively low score in Jaipur, it represented a comeback from a dire start which left them at 21 for four.

And they restricted Rajasthan skilfully when the time came to bowl, squeezing the required run rate up to almost 10 an over.

But Hodge turned the match on its head with an unbeaten 52 from just 23 balls.

The Royals go through to the semi-finals as the top side in Group A, with a perfect record.

Otago are still in pole position to join them—but Mumbai Indians can still overhaul them if they pull off a resounding victory over the winless Perth Scorchers in the final game of the group.

Here is the match scorecard, as given by the official CLT20 website:

Otago Volts Innings (Run Rate: 6.95)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Neil Broomc Sanju Samson b Shane Watson111573.3320
 Hamish Rutherfordb Rahul Shukla5771.4210
 Brendon McCullumlbw Rahul Shukla020.0000
 Derek de Boorderc & b Rahul Shukla020.0000
 Ryan ten Doeschatelbw Pravin Tambe262796.2930
 Jimmy Neeshamc Shane Watson b Kevon Cooper3225128.0041
 Nathan McCullumNOT OUT2820140.0030
 Ian Butlerb Kevon Cooper2518138.8822
 Neil WagnerNOT OUT54125.0000
Extras(w 2, lb 5)7    
Total(7 wickets; 20/20 overs)139 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Ashok Menaria1909.003
    James Faulkner42807.009
    Shane Watson32418.009
    Rahul Shukla42335.7512
    Kevon Cooper43328.2510
    Pravin Tambe41714.2512
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/16 (Rutherford, 3.1 ov)2/20 (McCullum, 3.3 ov)
    3/20 (de Boorder, 3.5 ov)4/21 (Broom, 4.3 ov)
    5/74 (Neesham, 12.2 ov)6/81 (ten Doeschate, 13.3 ov)
    7/120 (Butler, 18.2 ov)
Rajasthan Royals Innings (Run Rate: 7.40)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Rahul Dravidc Nathan McCullum b Nick Beard101758.8200
 Ajinkya Rahanec Neil Broom b Jimmy Neesham5248108.3370
 Sanju Samsonb Jimmy Neesham5862.5010
 Shane Watsonc Derek de Boorder b Jimmy Neesham2922.2200
 Stuart Binnyc Brendon McCullum b Neil Wagner1250.0000
 Brad HodgeNOT OUT5223226.0853
 James Faulknerb Neil Wagner2450.0000
 Kevon CooperNOT OUT84200.0020
Extras(w 9, lb 1)10    
Total(6 wickets; 19.1/20 overs)142 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Ian Butler3.137011.686
    James McMillan42606.5014
    Neil Wagner43328.2511
    Nick Beard42315.759
    Jimmy Neesham42235.5011
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/49 (Dravid, 6.4 ov)2/67 (Samson, 9.3 ov)
    3/71 (Watson, 11.3 ov)4/72 (Binny, 12.1 ov)
    5/116 (Rahane, 16.6 ov)6/130 (Faulkner, 18.2 ov)