The 10 Greatest Individual MLB Seasons to Be Robbed in MVP Award Voting

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
The 10 Greatest Individual MLB Seasons to Be Robbed in MVP Award Voting
Jeff Gross/Getty Images
All great players get snubbed by the MVP Awards. Join the club, Mike Trout.

The 2012 American League MVP Award voting was one of the most contentious competitions in baseball history. In a true bout between traditional versus modern baseball minds, the sides pitted Mike Trout and Miguel Cabrera against each other in an unparalleled forum of critical discourse. 

Stat-centered critics felt that Trout was the superior player to Cabrera, as the Los Angeles Angels outfielder posted a better park-adjusted OPS+ (168), stole a ton of bases (49) and played elite defense (2.1 dWAR). But most importantly, the rookie collected a 10.9 bWAR, which bested Miggy’s by 3.6 points.

The majority of critics were swayed by Cabrera capturing the Triple Crown, however, and handed the AL MVP Award to the Detroit Tigers third baseman.

Given the similar caliber of production by both players in 2013, there will undoubtedly be an equally controversial decision ahead.

Read on to see the 10 greatest individual MLB seasons to be robbed in the MVP Award voting.


Note: The rankings are based on wide, statistical discrepancies (usually bWAR, OPS+ and ERA+), but they take position scarcity into consideration too.

All statistics sourced (through September 25 games) from

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook