CLT20: Rajasthan Royals vs. Lions Scorecard, Standings, Recap and More

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterSeptember 25, 2013


Rajasthan Royals made it two wins from two after holding off the Lions and sealing a 30-run win in Group A of the Champions League T20.

Put in to bat first by their South African opponents, they piled on 183 for six wickets from their 20 overs in Jaipur and then restricted the Lions to 153 for nine.

It was a measured innings from the IPL team—they started steadily via Rahul Dravid's 31 runs from 30, then upped the tempo as the innings went on through Shane Watson (33 from 24), Stuart Binny (38 from 20), and Brad Hodge (46 from 23).

The late onslaught turned a good total into an imposing one, and the Lions never really got to terms with it.

Alviro Peterson top scored with 40 from 28 balls, but there simply wasn't enough support around him to chase the target down.

Opening bowlers Vikramjeet Malik and James Faulkner both picked up a couple of wickets in economical figures, and Pravin Tambe did the rest, finishing with 4-15 to rip the heart out of the middle order.

Here is what the result does to the standings in Group A:

Here is the scorecard, as recorded by the official CLT20 website:

Rajasthan Royals Innings (Run Rate: 9.15)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Rahul Dravidc Alviro Petersen b Dwaine Pretorius3130103.3350
 Ajinkya Rahanec Hardus Viljoen b Sohail Tanvir6785.7110
 Sanju Samsonc Thami Tsolekile b Lonwabo Tsotsobe1211109.0920
 Shane Watsonc Jean Symes b Lonwabo Tsotsobe3324137.5042
 Stuart Binnyb Dwaine Pretorius3820190.0051
 Brad HodgeNOT OUT4623200.0062
 Ashok MenariaNOT OUT6875.0000
Extras(nb 3, w 7, lb 1)11    
Total(5 wickets; 20/20 overs)183 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Lonwabo Tsotsobe42626.5013
    Sohail Tanvir43619.0011
    Hardus Viljoen441010.256
    Dwaine Pretorius42726.7512
    Aaron Phangiso452013.005
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/21 (Rahane, 3.2 ov)2/36 (Samson, 5.2 ov)
    3/67 (Dravid, 9.3 ov)4/110 (Watson, 13.4 ov)
    5/145 (Binny, 16.6 ov)
Highveld Lions Innings (Run Rate: 7.65)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Rassie van der Dussenc Rahul Dravid b Vikramjeet Malik141687.5011
 Quinton de Kockc Ashok Menaria b Shane Watson1810180.0021
 Temba Bavumac Sanju Samson b Vikramjeet Malik040.0000
 Hardus Viljoenb Pravin Tambe2421114.2802
 Alviro Petersenb Pravin Tambe4028142.8540
 Jean Symesc Stuart Binny b Pravin Tambe3560.0000
 Sohail Tanvirlbw Pravin Tambe020.0000
 Thami Tsolekileb James Faulkner2114150.0020
 Dwaine Pretoriusc Brad Hodge b James Faulkner1914135.7111
 Aaron PhangisoNOT OUT4666.6600
 Lonwabo TsotsobeNOT OUT00 00
Extras(w 3, b 5, lb 2)10    
Total(9 wickets; 20/20 overs)153 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Vikramjeet Malik32628.669
    James Faulkner42225.5012
    Shane Watson42716.759
    Stuart Binny21708.504
    Kevon Cooper43909.754
    Pravin Tambe31545.008
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/25 (de Kock, 3.3 ov)2/36 (van der Dussen, 4.5 ov)
    3/36 (Bavuma, 4.6 ov)4/89 (Viljoen, 11.3 ov)
    5/101 (Symes, 13.1 ov)6/101 (Tanvir, 13.3 ov)
    7/120 (Petersen, 15.1 ov)8/137 (Tsolekile, 17.3 ov)
    9/152 (Pretorius, 19.5 ov)