MLB Rookie of the Year Winners Since 1990 Who Never Amounted to Much

« Prev
1 of 10
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
MLB Rookie of the Year Winners Since 1990 Who Never Amounted to Much
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Ever since 1947, Major League Baseball has honored the top rookies each year with the Rookie of the Year award. The award is now also known as the Jackie Robinson Award, commemorating Jackie as the first recipient of the award after his historic debut season.

Through the years, there have been a great number of players who went on to have Hall of Fame careers after winning Rookie of the Year honors. Willie Mays ('51), Rod Carew ('67), and Cal Ripken ('82) are just some of the rookies who made it to Cooperstown.

Even today, there are some former Rookie of the Year winners that have gone on to have, or are in the midst of, an overall successful career, even if Cooperstown is not their final destination. 

But perhaps more notably are the players who are deemed Rookie of the Year, but then fail to have any success in subsequent seasons. The sophomore jinx may be a real thing if you ask these guys, who were never able to repeat the brilliance seen in their rookie campaigns.

Hopefully the likes of Mike Trout, Buster Posey and Bryce Harper won't suffer the same fate as these past winners.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.