Alfred Dunhill Links Championship 2013: Day 1 Schedule, Tee Times and More

Tim DanielsFeatured ColumnistSeptember 26, 2013

ST ANDREWS, SCOTLAND - OCTOBER 07:  Branden Grace of South Africa holds the trophy aloft on the Swilken Bridge after his victory in The Alfred Dunhill Links Championship at The Old Course on October 7, 2012 in St Andrews, Scotland.  (Photo by Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images)
Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

The Alfred Dunhill Links Championship is one of the most unique golf tournaments of the year. The European Tour event is held across three different courses in Scotland and attracts many of the sport's high-profile players.

As if that wasn't enough, it's also a pro-am tournament, which means the professionals are attempting to win both the individual title and the pro-am title. For a complete look at all of the teams, check out the championship's official site.

South African Branden Grace returns to defend his victory from last season and is joined by players from around the globe. They will have matching tee times at each of the three courses for the first three rounds and then a cut is made before the final round at St Andrews.

With all that in mind, let's check out the complete list of start times for the opening round and take a quick glance at each set of players. But first, a look at the long-distance putt holed by American Olympian Michael Phelps at the event last year:


Day 1 Schedule

All times are BST (subtract five hours for EDT). Schedule courtesy of the European Tour.

St Andrews Tee Times

The group that will begin the tournament at the Old Course features a solid contingent of veteran players who enjoyed past success. It's highlighted by the likes of Jesper Parnevik, Jose Maria Olazabal and David Duval, among others.

But there's also a younger bunch capable of stealing the spotlight, including Thorbjorn Olesen and JB Hansen. Also keep an eye on Alvaro Quiros, a player with no shortage of power who's capable of putting it all together any given week.


Carnoustie Tee Times

The most star-studded group of the trio is heading for Carnoustie in the opening round. There are some terrific pairings, led by Ernie Els and Charl Schwartzel as well as Martin Kaymer and Padraig Harrington, a two-time winner of the event.

Louis Oosthuizen, Paul Casey, Darren Clarke and Grace, the defending champ, are among the other big names starting their journey at Carnoustie. It certainly wouldn't come as a surprise if the eventual winner comes from this set of stars.


Kingsbarns Tee Times

This would probably be considered the sleeper bunch. Not nearly as much star power as the other two starting locations, but some players capable of stealing the spotlight. The unique atmosphere definitely leaves the door open for a surprise winner.

A few players to keep on the radar are Ross Fisher, Robert Rock and Chris Wood. Kingsbarns is the shortest of the three courses, so perhaps one of them could get off to a strong start and build some momentum heading toward the weekend.