Sylvania 300 2013: Start Time, Lineup, TV Schedule and More

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Sylvania 300 2013: Start Time, Lineup, TV Schedule and More
Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

The Sylvania 300, the second race in the Chase for the Sprint Cup, will fire up on Sunday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, and there is plenty of drama and intrigue heading into the showdown.

Matt Kenseth, who won the Sprint Cup championship in 2003, leads in the standings after his victory in the Geico 400 at Chicago last week.

Kyle Busch, who just missed the Chase last year, is seeking his first Sprint Cup title, eight points behind Kenseth.

After a brutal first race in the Chase that saw Michael Waltrip Racing get penalized 50 points, the unlucky Martin Truex Jr.—who had nothing to do with the penalty—looks to pick up the pieces.

Here's a preview of the 2013 Sylvania 300, complete with TV info, the lineup and the current Sprint Cup standings.

Where: New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, N.H.

When: Sunday, Sept. 22 at 2 p.m. ET

Watch: ESPN

Live Stream:


Starting Lineup for 2013 Sylvania 300
Position Driver Manufacturer Team
1 Ryan Newman Chevrolet Stewart-Haas Racing
2 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
3 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
4 Kurt Busch Chevrolet Furniture Row Racing
5 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota Michael Waltrip Racing
6 Joey Logano Ford Penske Racing
7 Paul Menard Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
8 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
9 Matt Kenseth Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Greg Biffle Ford Roush Fenway Racing
11 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
12 Kyle Busch Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Aric Almirola Ford Richard Petty Motorsports
14 Denny Hamlin Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
15 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevrolet Earnhardt Ganassi Racing 
16 Clint Bowyer Toyota Michael Waltrip Racing
17 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
18 Mark Martin Chevrolet Stewart-Haas Racing
19 David Ragan Ford Front Row Motorsports
20 Brad Keselowski Ford Penske Racing
21 Danica Patrick Chevrolet Stewart-Haas Racing
22 Marcos Ambrose  Ford Roush Fenway Racing
23 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Earnhardt Ganassi Racing
24 David Gilliland Ford Front Row Motorsports
25 Jeff Burton  Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
26 Carl Edwards Ford Roush Fenway Racing
27 Michael McDowell Chevrolet Phoenix Racing
28 Bobby LaBonte Toyota JTG Daugherty Racing
29 Brian Vickers  Toyota Michael Waltrip Racing
30 Travis Kvapil Toyota BK Racing
31 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford Roush Fenway Racing
32 Landon Cassill Chevrolet Mike Hillman Racing
33 Kevin Swindell Chevrolet Swan Racing
34 Casey Mears Ford Germain Racing
35 David Reutimann Toyota BK Racing
36 Joe Nemechek Toyota Nemco-JRR Motorsports
37 JJ Yeley Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing
38 Dave Blaney Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing
39 Tony Raines Chevrolet Circle Sport Racing
40 Scott Riggs Ford Leavine Family Racing
41 Johnny Sauter Ford Phil Parsons Racing
42 Timmy Hill Ford FAS Lane Racing
43 Josh Wise Ford Front Row Motorsports

Bob Pockrass/Sporting News

Drivers to Watch

Matt Kenseth

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

Will Matt Kenseth win the Sylvania 300?

Submit Vote vote to see results

First and foremost, current Sprint Cup points leader Matt Kenseth has been on fire in 2013 after switching from Roush Fenway Racing to Joe Gibbs Racing at the start of the season.

The 41-year-old hasn't won the Sprint Cup Championship since 2003. You may remember that year came with some controversy. While Kenseth posted 11 top-five finishes and 25 top-10 finishes on the year, he only had one victory, leading to some drivers calling for a change in the points and playoff systems. New systems were put in place for the 2004 campaign.

Well, Kenseth has plenty of wins this year, racking up six victories, as well as seven top-five finishes and 14 top-10 finishes. He's coming off of a win at the Geico 400 at Chicago.

Martin Truex Jr. 

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

It's been a pretty rough couple of weeks for Martin Truex Jr.

The 33-year-old would have qualified for a wild card in the Chase on Sept. 7 at Richmond International Speedway but was assessed a 50-point penalty from NASCAR's sanctioning body after teammates Clint Bowyer and Brian Vickers spun out and pitted on command, respectively.

Not only that, NAPA opted to pull its sponsorship at the end of the year after the ordeal.

Truex now finds himself in 17th place in the Sprint Cup standings. He's slotted in the fifth position at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, looking to bounce back from a perfect storm.

Kyle Busch

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

Kyle Busch has never won the Sprint Cup Championship, but he placed fifth in 2007 and has posted a top-15 finish every year since.

The 28-year-old finds himself in second place headed into the Sylvania 300 on Sunday, eight points behind Kenseth. He has four wins, 12 top-five finishes and 16 top-10 finishes on the year. He's coming off of a second-place finish in the Geico 400 at Chicago.

Last year, Busch just missed the Chase, finishing 13th in the Sprint Cup standings. But instead of lamenting over the disappointment, Busch has called it a "learning experience," per Michael Vega of the Boston Globe.

It's that kind of positive outlook—not mention, an impressive 2013 campaign—that has Busch's peers thinking he could win it all this year.

Up-to-Date Standings

Chase for the Cup Standings
Position Driver Points Behind
1 Matt Kenseth 2063 --
2 Kyle Busch 2055 8
3 Jimmie Johnson 2052 11
4 Kevin Harvick 2048 15
5 Carl Edwards 2040 23
6 Kurt Busch 2040 23
7 Jeff Gordon 2039 24
8 Ryan Newman 2035 28
9 Clint Bowyer 2035 28
10 Kasey Kahne 2032 31
11 Greg Biffle 2032 31
12 Joey Logano 2011 52
13 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2010 53

Twitter Button from

Follow B/R on Facebook

Formula 1

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.