CLT20: Kandurata Maroons vs. Faisalabad Wolves Scorecard, Recap and More

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterSeptember 20, 2013


In a dead rubber qualifier Pakistan's Faisalabad Wolves pulled off a consolation victory over the Kandurata Maroons of Sri Lanka, eventually coming through to win by 10 runs.

It was a performance made possibly Misbah-ul-Haq, the Pakistan captain and leading light of the Wolves' batting. His unbeaten 93 off just 60 balls dominated the innings of 146-6 and contained six fours and five sixes.

In the first four games in Mohali the side chasing the runs has romped to victory, but the Wolves bucked that trend thanks to Misbah's efforts.

By contrast, the next best score was Tjust 21 from as many balls by Mohammad Salman. The other batsmen managed just four boundaries between them.

Kandurata kept in touch with the required run rate but never broke ahead of the total. 

Their chase was led by Kumar Sangakkara, who top-scored with 44, but when he exited after holing out to Imran Khalid the game was on a knife-edge.

Disciplined bowling helped Faisalabad squeeze the life out of the Kandurata Maroons chase, and they eventually fell short.

Here is the scorecard, as given by the official CLT20 website:

Faisalabad Wolves Innings (Run Rate: 7.30)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Ammar Mahmoodc Upul Tharanga b Dilhara Lokuhettige101283.3310
 Ali Waqasc Kumar Sangakkara b Nuwan Kulasekara010.0000
 Asif Alic Kumar Sangakkara b Nuwan Kulasekara1010100.0010
 Misbah-ul-HaqNOT OUT9360155.0075
 Khurram Shahzadlbw Ajantha Mendis71450.0010
 Mohammad Salmanc Lahiru Jayaratne b Dilhara Lokuhettige2121100.0010
 Imran Khalidc Kumar Sangakkara b Dilhara Lokuhettige010.0000
 Saeed AjmalNOT OUT11100.0000
Extras(w 3, lb 1)4    
Total(6 wickets; 20/20 overs)146 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Nuwan Kulasekara43428.5011
    Dilhara Lokuhettige42135.2510
    Lahiru Jayaratne41303.2514
    Milinda Siriwardana220010.005
    Ajantha Mendis42716.757
    Suraj Randiv230015.001
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/5 (Waqas, 0.5 ov)2/20 (Ali, 3.3 ov)
    3/22 (Mahmood, 4.3 ov)4/56 (Shahzad, 9.3 ov)
    5/130 (Salman, 18.1 ov)6/131 (Khalid, 18.3 ov)
Kandurata Maroons Innings (Run Rate: 6.80)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Upul Tharangac Asad Ali b Ehsan Adil252792.5940
 Thilina Kandambylbw Asad Ali020.0000
 Kumar Sangakkarac Ammar Mahmood b Imran Khalid4436122.2241
 Lahiru Thirimannec Asad Ali b Ehsan Adil4666.6600
 Chamara Silvast Mohammad Salman b Imran Khalid2524104.1611
 Dilhara Lokuhettigerun out (Ali Waqas)141687.5020
 Milinda Siriwardanab Ehsan Adil199211.1121
 Nuwan KulasekaraNOT OUT00 00
Extras(w 2, b 1, lb 2)5    
Total(7 wickets; 20/20 overs)136 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Samiullah Khan31505.0010
    Asad Ali42416.0013
    Saeed Ajmal43308.255
    Ehsan Adil42536.2511
    Khuram Shahzad1909.001
    Imran Khalid42726.7511
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/14 (Kandamby, 1.6 ov)2/43 (Tharanga, 7.2 ov)
    3/55 (Thirimanne, 9.1 ov)4/83 (Sangakkara, 14.1 ov)
    5/108 (Silva, 16.6 ov)6/130 (Lokuhettige, 19.3 ov)