Durham CCC logoDurham CCC

County Championship 2013: Durham Take Down Nottinghamshire to Win Title

CHESTER-LE-STREET, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 18:  Durham bowler Graham Onions celebrates after taking the wicket of Notts batsman Michael Lumb during day two of the LV County Championship Division One match between Durham and Nottinghamshire at The Riverside on September 18, 2013 in Chester-le-Street, England.  (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)
Stu Forster/Getty Images
Matt CheethamCorrespondent ISeptember 19, 2013

Durham have won the 2013 LV County Championship, after easing home to an eight-wicket win over Nottinghamshire (via BBC Sport).

Paul Collingwood's side began Day 3 needing just 62 runs to claim victory against their relegation-threatened opponents. However, rain at Chester-le-Street initially halted their quest, with both sides confined to the dressing room by a steady drizzle.

Thankfully, for the hosts, the skies eventually cleared, allowing them to chase down their modest total and lift a third title in six years

The result had always seemed likely after Durham's seamers had pulverised the Nottinghamshire batsmen in the first innings, bowling them out for an embarrassing 78. Having slumped to 74-6 themselves, Collingwood and Paul Mustard came together to form a crucial 121-run partnership, guiding the home side to 256, with both veterans passing 50 on the way.

That partnership effectively secured the title, and although Nottinghamshire improved second time around with the bat, accumulating 246, the damage had been done by their first innings collapse. They left Durham needing just 69 runs to be crowned county champions once again.

With the best part of two days left to play, the weather was the only factor likely to prolong Durham’s wait any further, and eventually—after several umpire inspectionsplay was allowed to resume at 13:30 BST.

Harry Gurney twice frustrated the home side's chase, claiming the wickets of Keaton Jennings and Scott Borthwick, but Durham progressed on to reach 69-2.

Mark Stoneman batted through to 35 not out and hit the winning boundary to secure a title last won back in 2008 and 2009.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices