CLT20: Kandurata Maroons vs. Otago Volts Scorecard, Recap & More from Game 3

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterSeptember 18, 2013

The Otago Volts made it two wins from two with a crunching six-wicket victory over the Kandurata Maroons.

Kandurata put on 154 for nine in their 20 overs, which Otago chased down with two overs to spare.

Barring an exceptional turnaround in fortunes, the result means the New Zealand-based side will qualify from the round-robin qualifiers and reach the tournament final, while the Maroons of Sri Lanka face an early exit.

Otago stuck to a winning formula in Mohali—bowl first at the toss, and chased the runs down.

Only Upul Tharanga stood in their way. The opener managed 76 from 56 balls, with six fours and three maximums. But none of his illustrious colleagues could build a meaningful partnership with him.

Ian Butler (3-21) set the tone with the ball, but all his teammates contributed in a fine, disciplined performance.

Neil Broom and Hamish Rutherford both bagged scores of 20-plus to get the chase rolling, but the star of the show was Ryan ten Doeschate. His 32-ball 64 included five sixes, and by the time he did eventually depart, his side needed just single figures with wickets and balls to spare.

The Volts will play Sunrisers Hyderabad in their final qualifier on Friday, while Kandurata Maroons will have to hope results go their way if there is to be anything riding on their match with Faisalabad Wolves.

Here is the scorecard, taken from the official CLT20 website:

Kandurata Maroons Innings (Run Rate: 7.70)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Upul Tharangac Brendon McCullum b Ian Butler7656135.7163
 Shehan Jayasuriyab James McMillan131968.4201
 Kumar Sangakkarac Ryan ten Doeschate b Jimmy Neesham139144.4411
 Dilhara Lokuhettigec Hamish Rutherford b Ryan ten Doeschate1510150.0011
 Lahiru Thirimannec Brendon McCullum b Ryan ten Doeschate66100.0000
 Chamara Silvalbw Ian Butler66100.0010
 Kaushal Lokuarachchib Ian Butler010.0000
 Nuwan Kulasekarab Neil Wagner148175.0011
 Thilina Kandambyrun out (Neil Wagner)53166.6610
 Suraj RandivNOT OUT11100.0000
 Ajantha MendisNOT OUT010.0000
Extras(w 2, b 1, lb 2)5    
Total(9 wickets; 20/20 overs)154 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Ian Butler42135.2512
    James McMillan31715.6610
    Neil Wagner42817.0012
    Nathan McCullum230015.002
    Jimmy Neesham43919.756
    Ryan ten Doeschate2924.504
    Nick Beard1707.001
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/25 (Jayasuriya, 5.6 ov)2/52 (Sangakkara, 8.3 ov)
    3/99 (Lokuhettige, 12.4 ov)4/112 (Thirimanne, 14.6 ov)
    5/134 (Tharanga, 17.3 ov)6/134 (Lokuarachchi, 17.4 ov)
    7/135 (Silva, 17.6 ov)8/146 (Kandamby, 19.1 ov)
    9/154 (Kulasekara, 19.5 ov)
Otago Volts Innings (Run Rate: 8.72)RunsBallsSR4s6s
 Neil Broomc Thilina Kandamby b Dilhara Lokuhettige252696.1502
 Hamish Rutherfordc Dilhara Lokuhettige b Suraj Randiv2015133.3340
 Brendon McCullumst Kumar Sangakkara b Dilhara Lokuhettige81650.0010
 Ryan ten Doeschatec Nuwan Kulasekara b Dilhara Lokuhettige6432200.0025
 Jimmy NeeshamNOT OUT3219168.4231
 Nathan McCullumNOT OUT11100.0000
Extras(nb 1, w 2, b 3, lb 1)7    
Total(4 wickets; 18/20 overs)157 
  • BowlerORWEconDots
    Nuwan Kulasekara331010.336
    Suraj Randiv43619.008
    Ajantha Mendis42606.507
    Dilhara Lokuhettige42135.2511
    Kaushal Lokuarachchi224012.003
    Shehan Jayasuriya115015.000
  • Fall of Wickets
    1/31 (Rutherford, 3.6 ov)2/45 (McCullum, 7.4 ov)
    3/89 (Broom, 12.1 ov)4/146 (ten Doeschate, 17.1 ov)