US Footballer Scores Directly from Flip Throw-in Thanks to Goalkeeper Error

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
US Footballer Scores Directly from Flip Throw-in Thanks to Goalkeeper Error

To our shame, we have not been keeping a close eye on provincial matches in New Jersey, USA, which means we only just discovered this bizarre goal from the match between the Hackensack Comets and Ramapo from last Saturday evening. 

Hackensack's thoroughly American-sounding Randy Gordon decided that the best way to launch his throw-in into the box was to perform an impressive somersault flip. The keeper could only brush the ball with his fingertips before it landed in the back of the net. 

If the unfortunate shot-stopper had been a little better acquainted with the rules, however, he would have known that a player cannot score directly from a throw-in.

By letting the acrobatic handspring effort land straight in the net, the keeper would have been given a simple goal kick. Thanks to his attempted save, the goal became legitimate.

And you thought Nicklas Bendtner had a bad first touch.

Here's some more long-range throw-in fun...

American amateur matches seem to be a hotbed of handspring throw-ins. In this game between Nevada Union and River Valley, the benches and colourful umbrellas are cast aside for an impressive run-up and launch. Once again, the keeper would have been better off leaving it. 

In the 2012 Kirin Cup match between Japan and Iceland, unpronounceable midfielder Steinþór Freyr Þorsteinsson performed so many acrobatic flips that he must have made himself very dizzy. Despite all the effort, none of them resulted in goals. 

Manchester Utd stuffed an Airtricity XI 7-1 in the summer of 2010, but the Irish side won points for style when winger Ryan Guy performed what might be the first and only handspring throw at Old Trafford

And finally, somewhere in this grainy footage, you can see Stoke's throw-in connoisseur Rory Delap scoring straight from the sideline, without the aid of a fancy flip. Sadly, as the referee believed no one touched it, the goal was not given. Replays suggested the keeper touched it. 

 

Follow Ryan Bailey on Twitter

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.