Soccer Player Scores on Audacious and Wonderful Flip Throw-In

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

When all else fails, just throw the ball into the net. 

While other players are busy using their feet to kick the ball about the pitch, Randy Gordon found a new and entirely captivating way to net a goal: flip and toss. 

The video posted was spotted by Bob's Blitz and features Gordon about to throw the ball in for the Hackensack (N.J.) High School Comets. 

We have all seen throw-ins before, and we have witnessed the grace and grandeur of the flip toss as well. However, you might want to save your yawns, because this video has a surprise ending. 

The ball floats toward the goal, where the goalkeeper leaps to keep it out of the net (a horrible mistake we will get to shortly) and manages to get what looks to be a couple of fingers on it before it heads into the goal. 

The crowd goes wild, and we have ourselves proof that you can just chuck a ball into the net whenever the mood strikes you. 

Not so much. 

Via FIFA.com's post on law 15, "A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in." Further description of the rule states officials should award a goal kick if the ball lands into the opponent's goal. 

Now we would love to hear from you soccer-rules buffs in the know as to the exact call on this peculiar play. 

What we assume happened is the ball touched the goalkeeper, keeping the ball live and validating the goal. The rules state you can't "directly" throw a ball into the net, so that outstretched arm from the keeper may have been the vital piece of this wonderful puzzle. 

Someone give that goalkeeper an assist. 

 

Hit me up on Twitter: 


Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

Sports Lists

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.