Jeff Burton's No. 31 Team Wins NASCAR Pit Crew Challenge

Jim BobCorrespondent IMay 15, 2009

CHARLOTTE, NC - MAY 14:  The #31 Caterpillar Chevrolet pit crew wins the NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge on May 14, 2009 at Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte, North Carolina.  (Photo by Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images for NASCAR)

The No. 31 Caterpillar Chevrolet team, driven by Jeff Burton, won the pit crew challenge after defeating the No. 43 Air Force Dodge team, driven by Reed Sorenson, in the final round of Thursday’s Sprint Pit Crew Challenge.

“I’m really proud of them,” said Burton. “They put so much effort into the pit stops, and they take this very seriously. They truly are athletes, and they work very hard at it.”

The No. 31 team’s night began in the seeding round when the team had a total time of 25.910-seconds after a three-second penalty, which ranked them 13th out of the 24 teams that entered.

The team then defeated the No. 42 Target Chevrolet team, driven by Juan Pablo Montoya, in the first round by 6.163-seconds after a penalty-free pit stop.

In the quarter-final round, the team beat the No. 99 AFLAC Ford team, driven by Carl Edwards, 4.615-seconds after their second penalty-free pit stop.

The team beat the No. 11 FedEx Ford team, driven by Denny Hamlin, in the semi-final round with their third-consecutive penalty-free pit stop for a 2.863-second margin-of-victory.