Big 12 Football: Bowl Lineup for 2014 and Beyond Announced

Ben Kercheval@@BenKerchevalCollege Football Lead WriterAugust 30, 2013

Jul 22, 2013; Dallas, TX, USA; Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby speaks to the media during the Big 12 media days at the Omni Dallas Hotel. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports
Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

It's been a while in the making, but the Big 12 officially announced its future bowl lineup for the 2014-19 seasons on Friday.

There are no surprises and the selection process, meaning the order in which the bowls will select Big 12 teams, is as follows: 

1. College Football Playoff/Allstate Sugar (vs. SEC opponent)
2. Valero Alamo (vs. Pac-12 opponent)
3. Russell Athletic (vs. ACC opponent)
4. Texas (vs. SEC opponent)
5. Liberty (vs. SEC opponent)
6. Buffalo Wild Wings (vs. Pac-12 opponent)
7. Heart of Dallas (vs. Conference-USA opponent)/Bell Helicopter Armed Forces (vs. AAC opponent)

The agreements with the bowls are for six years, save for the Sugar Bowl (12-year agreement) and the Heart of Dallas Bowl/Armed Forces Bowl (rotating basis over six years). 

Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby said back in January that one of his priorities was restructuring the conference's bowl tie-ins to reflect a stronger presence in the state of Florida. Teaming up with the ACC in the Orlando-based Russell Athletic Bowl obviously provides that.

And there's a much stronger Southeast presence in this new bowl lineup in general. The Big 12 will now send a representative to Memphis for the Liberty Bowl and New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl.

Though the conference's California connection to the Holiday Bowl is gone (and replaced by the Big Ten), it still has a Southwest presence with the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl

In all, there are six bowl games against opponents from what are considered to be the five power conferences in college football. 

And, hey, no more Pinstripe Bowl during the middle of winter. So, yeah. The Big 12 did alright.