Can The Ohio State Buckeyes Win All Four Non-Conference Games in 2009?

Jeremy JeffriesCorrespondent IMay 14, 2009

The Ohio State Buckeyes play four non-conference games in 2009.

First game being on Sept. 5 against the Navy Midshipmen.

Navy went 8-5 in 2008, with a win against Rutgers 23-21 and Wake Forest, who was ranked No. 16 in the country at the time, 24-17. Navy had an awesome game against Temple last season, trailing 27-7 with 9:16 left on the clock. Navy scored 26 unanswered points, winning 33-27 in dramatic fashion.

I wouldn't want to start my season off playing the Midshipmen, especially with a defense as young as the Buckeyes.

Next, USC comes to Columbus to battle the Bucks on Sept. 12.

USC has won 12 of the 21 meetings between the two storied programs, including a 35-3 beatdown last season in Los Angeles.

USC has scored 370 points in the meetings to OSU's 335 points.

The two teams have faced each other six times in the Rose Bowl, USC winning four of those meetings. Ohio State has outscored USC 129-125 in their Rose Bowl meetings.

On Sept. 19, the Buckeyes keep it within their Ohio border—the Toledo Rockets and the Ohio State Buckeyes both travel to Cleveland to play for only their second time in history.

Ohio State beat Toledo 49-0 in 1998. The Rockets hired a new coach for the 2009 season, ex-Oklahoma State University defensive coordinator and cornerbacks coach at Ohio State (2005-06). Tim Beckman took over the MAC school with high expectations, especially after the 2008 upset of Big Ten powerhouse Michigan.

On Oct. 31, Ohio State will meet the New Mexico State Aggies (3-9 in '08) for the first time ever.

The New Mexico St. football team has only played a Big Ten team one other time (1995 Iowa) losing that contest 59-21. There is no reason why the outcome of this meeting should turn out any different.

USC should be the only non-conference game in 2009 that I could see the Buckeyes having trouble with. However, I do think the men of Troy will have their hands full in the Shoe. In seven meeting at the Horseshoe, USC has won three (1938,47,90) Ohio State has won three (1942,60,64), with one tie (1949).