Handicapping the 2013-14 NBA MVP Field

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Handicapping the 2013-14 NBA MVP Field
Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports
Will we see this sight again?

2009: LeBron James. 

2010: LeBron James. 

2011: Derrick Rose

2012: LeBron James. 

2013: LeBron James. 

2014: ??? 


Will the reign of dominance continue in 2014, allowing LeBron James to win his third MVP in a row, or is it time for someone else to hold up the Maurice Podoloff Trophy shown above? 

Winning the NBA's MVP award is no easy feat. Doing so almost guarantees entry into the Hall of Fame, as the only non-active MVP winners outside the Hall are Shaquille O'Neal and Allen Iverson, two players who can book their stays as soon as they're eligible. 

It's an accomplishment that requires team success, individual greatness, compelling storylines and a clean bill of health. Lose any of those criteria, and you may as well pass the baton to someone else. 

Plenty of NBA superstars will be keeping their eyes on the prize throughout the 2013-14 season, but dethroning James will be rather difficult. 

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.