WWE SummerSlam 2013 Winners: Victors Who Will Lose at Night of Champions

Ryan DilbertWWE Lead WriterAugust 19, 2013

(Photo: WWE)
(Photo: WWE)

Some of the winners from SummerSlam 2013 should savor the taste of their victory champagne because they won't be tasting it come Night of Champions.

WWE's next pay-per-view will have each of the company's titles on the line. Picking apart history and recent patterns reveals that some of the Superstars who earned wins on Sunday will follow that up with disappointment.

Rob Van Dam, Natalya and Daniel Bryan have history against them. It is highly unlikely these three wrestlers will end their matches at Night of Champions with the referee raising their hands.


Rob Van Dam

Van Dam won his match on the pre-show against Dean Ambrose even though he ended it on his back thanks to a spear from Roman Reigns.

His win via disqualification, the multiple times he seemed to have the match in hand and the quality of that clash will get Van Dam a rematch at Night of Champions. Van Dam's fans, salivating at the thought of another title run from Mr. Monday Night, shouldn't get too excited just yet, though.

Expect Ambrose to hold on to his title by beating Van Dam.

Of the last nine champs in United States title history, four of them had reigns over 150 days. Additionally, two of the last three champions before Ambrose went over that mark, including Santino Marella, who held the belt for 167 days.

It's hard to imagine someone who has been booked as dominant as Ambrose has so far in his career not to outlast Santino's title reign. That gives him at least two months more with the championship.

Add to that the fact that the U.S. title has only changed hands once at Night of Champions, per TheHistoryofWWE.com, when Daniel Bryan beat The Miz in 2010, and Ambrose is the man to bet on at Night of Champions.



Kaitlyn's run of title shots is likely to be over. She failed to win back her championship at Money in the Bank and on the August 2 episode of WWE SmackDown. Natalya is likely to be AJ Lee's next competitor.

While Natalya fans could rejoice after she forced Brie Bella to tap out at SummerSlam, Night of Champions won't be so kind to her.

Were WWE to let the Divas engage in shoot matches, Natalya would likely compile a record comparable to Ronda Rousey's. Instead, the company has her win rather infrequently on pay-per-views, especially if one only looks at her singles matches.

After taking three years to earn two pay-per-view victories, Natalya isn't likely to go for two straight wins now. Factor in that she would be facing a rival in AJ who has yet to lose a singles pay-per-view match, and it's best to temper one's expectations regarding the best female mat wrestler on the roster.


Daniel Bryan

As much as Bryan's fans want to see him win back the WWE Championship and erase the memory of Randy Orton pinning him at SummerSlam, this is a story more likely to stretch out over several pay-per-views.

Bryan looked to be on the top of the world after pinning John Cena on Sunday.

To get back that championship he held only briefly, he not only has to go through Orton but apparently Triple H as well. We'll find out more on Monday's WWE Raw why Triple H knocked Bryan to the mat after his match, but surely having those two men as enemies will make regaining the title that much harder.

For WWE to have Bryan win his first rematch is too easy.

Having him come close to winning but suffer a loss at Night of Champions and perhaps at Battleground as well only makes his eventual win a more glorious moment.

Only once has a cash-in victim won back his championship on the very next pay-per-view. Cena did it back in 2006 against Edge, winning back his title at the 2006 Royal Rumble. Alberto Del Rio had to wait for his rematch because of Dolph Ziggler's concussion, but did win it back on his first try.

Otherwise, men like CM Punk, Chris Jericho, Rey Mysterio and The Undertaker have been unable to immediately repay the men who cashed in on them. Statistics say Bryan won't get the belt back on the first try, either.

Bryan will hold the gold again; it just won't be on September 15.