AthleticsDownload App

IAAF World Championships 2013: Day 8 Schedule and Predictions

MOSCOW, RUSSIA - AUGUST 11:  Usain Bolt of Jamaica celebrates winning gold in the Men's 100 metres Final during Day Two of the 14th IAAF World Athletics Championships Moscow 2013 at Luzhniki Stadium on August 11, 2013 in Moscow, Russia.  (Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images)
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Ben SnowballContributor IAugust 17, 2013

The king of athletics returns to Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow on Saturday keen to add to his 100-metre title.

Usain Bolt looks unbeatable, so if athletics fans desire an event that has some element of competition, they will have to pull their attention away from the sprints.

Let's have a look at the schedule for Day 8 before exploring how the action will unfold.

 

Day 8 Schedule

EventRoundTime
Men's MarathonFinal12:30 p.m. (BST)/ 7:30 a.m. (ET)
Women's High JumpFinal3 p.m. (BST)/ 10 a.m. (ET)
Women's 100-Metre HurdlesSemifinal3:20 p.m. (BST)/ 10:20 a.m. (ET)
Men's JavelinFinal3:35 p.m. (BST)/ 10:35 a.m. (ET)
Women's 5,000 MetresFinal3:55 p.m. (BST)/ 10:55 a.m. (ET)
Women's 4x400-Metre RelayFinal4:30 p.m. (BST)/ 11:30 a.m. (ET)
Women's 100-Metre HurdlesFinal4:50 p.m. (BST)/ 11:50 a.m. (ET)
Men's 200 MetresFinal5:10 p.m. (BST)/ 12:10 p.m. (ET)

 

Predictions

Men’s 200 metres—Winner: Usain Bolt (JAM), 19.39 seconds

If Bolt loses on Saturday evening it would be the greatest shock of the season. Without training partner Yohan Blake to test him, there really can be only one winner.

That’s not to disrespect the other athletes—Warren Weir looks capable of running around 19.6 seconds to potentially send a tiny flutter though Bolt’s stomach—but in reality they are just not on the same level as the tall Jamaican.

He won the 100 metres convincingly enough, but his time of 9.77 seconds suggests he is not quite in world-record shape for the longer sprint. However, he should comfortably win in around 19.4 seconds.

 

Women’s 100-metre hurdles—Winner: Brianna Rollins (USA), 12.35 seconds

This looks set to be a showdown between world and Olympic champion Sally Pearson and new kid on the block Rollins.

Rollins ran the third-fastest time in history earlier this season, and the only thing that will stop her taking gold in Moscow is if she develops a bout of championship nerves.

The 21-year-old has avoided racing Pearson in the build-up to the World Championships and must not let the Australian get inside her head.

Pearson is the ultimate racer. She stormed to first place in the London Anniversary Games and set a season’s best in the heats on Friday. The Aussie hurdler doesn’t look in the same shape as last year, so she must use all her experience to intimidate her American rival.

Rollins hasn’t blinked yet, though, and looks set to be the woman to someday smash Yordanka Donkova’s long-standing world record of 12.21 from 1986, although that probably won’t happen on a Moscow track that has proved stingy when it comes to dishing out fast times.

 

Men’s Javelin—Winner: Dmitri Tarabin (RUS), 88.02 metres

The Moscow championships have lacked buzz with the stadium often half empty. But when Yelena Isinbayeva took pole vault gold, the Russians flocked in droves to cheer on their countrywoman.

Tarabin now has the chance to add to his nation’s medal total. He lacks senior experiencealthough he did win gold at the World University Championshipsbut possesses the season-best throw of 88.84 metres among this year's finalists.

The Russian will have to battle a host of contenders, including former world champions Andreas Thorkildsen of Norway and Tero Pitkamaki of Finland. If he throws near his personal best, it should assure him victory with the javelin legends no longer capable of producing throws over 90 metres.

Sadly, Tarabin won’t be up against surprise Olympic champion Keshorn Walcott, who crashed out in the heats. The Trinidad and Tobago athlete had a lighthouse named after him as reward for his London success—winning his nation's second-ever gold medal and first since the Montreal Olympics in 1976— but his departure means there will be no amusing post-World Championship tales.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices