AthleticsDownload App

Athletics World Championships 2013: Schedule's Must-See Weekend Events

MOSCOW, RUSSIA - AUGUST 11:  Usain Bolt of Jamaica celebrates winning gold in the Men's 100 metres Final during Day Two of the 14th IAAF World Athletics Championships Moscow 2013 at Luzhniki Stadium on August 11, 2013 in Moscow, Russia.  (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)
Christian Petersen/Getty Images
Ben SnowballContributor IDecember 25, 2016

It's been a thrilling World Athletics Championships so far.

We've seen Usain Bolt reclaim his 100m title after false starting in Daegu, Yelena Isinbayeva seal an emotional gold on home soil in the pole vault and LaShawn Merritt blow away the 400m field to take gold.

Let's take a look at the full weekend schedule before breaking down the key events from the weekend.

 

Saturday (Day 8) Schedule

EventRoundTime
Men's MarathonFinal12:30 p.m. (BST)/ 7:30 a.m. (ET)
Women's High JumpFinal3 p.m. (BST)/ 10 a.m. (ET)
Women's 100 Metre HurdlesSemifinal3:20 p.m. (BST)/ 10:20 a.m. (ET)
Men's JavelinFinal3:35 p.m. (BST)/ 10:35 a.m. (ET)
Women's 5,000 MetresFinal3:55 p.m. (BST)/ 10:55 a.m. (ET)
Women's 4x400 Metres RelayFinal4:30 p.m. (BST)/ 11:30 a.m. (ET)
Women's 100 Metre HurdlesFinal4:50 p.m. (BST)/ 11:50 a.m. (ET)
Men's 200 MetresFinal5:10 p.m. (BST)/ 12:10 p.m. (ET)

 

Sunday (Day 9 Schedule)

EventRoundTime
Women's JavelinFinal1 p.m. (BST)/ 8 a.m. (ET)
Women's 4x100 Metre RelayHeats1:15 p.m. (BST)/ 8:15 a.m. (ET)
Men's Triple JumpFinal1:45 p.m. (BST)/ 8:45 a.m. (ET)
Men's 4x100 Metre RelayHeats1:50 p.m. (BST)/ 8:50 a.m. (ET)
Men's 1,500 MetresFinal2:25 p.m. (BST)/ 9:25 a.m. (ET)
Women's 800 MetresFinal2:50 p.m. (BST)/ 9:50 a.m. (ET)
Women's 4x100 Metre RelayFinal3:10 p.m. (BST)/ 10:10 a.m. (ET)
Men's 4x100 Metre RelayFinal3:40 p.m. (BST)/ 10:40 a.m. (ET)

 

Key Events

Men's 200 Metres

Yet another world title beckons for Usain Bolt. There is no one in the field capable of rivalling the Jamaican, assuming he waits for the gun, with a severe lack of sub-20-second athletes in the event.

Don’t expect a world record, but Bolt always puts on a show and this will be no different as he seeks to add to his haul of gold medals. He's looked slightly subdued in Moscow, perhaps focusing solely on avoiding another false start blip on his record, but now the 100 metres is out the way we can look forward to his spontaneous showmanship.

Contenders for the other spots on the podium are Jamaican pair Warren Weir and Nickel Ashmeade as well as American duo Wallace Spearmon and Isiah Young.

 

Women’s 100 Metre Hurdles

Can Sally Pearson retain her world title? The Australian stormed to gold in Daegu before following it up with success at the London Olympics.

To do so she’ll have to fend off four quality Americans—Nia Ali, Queen Harrison, Dawn Harper and Brianna Rollins—and put an indifferent 2013 season to the back of her mind.

Britain’s Tiffany Porter would desperately like to add an outdoor international medal to her list of achievements, but with such strong competition, simply making the final would represent a decent achievement. A high-profile early casualty is practically inevitable.

 

Women’s High Jump

The women’s high jump is set to be hotly contested, with just 12 centimetres separating the entire field’s personal bests.

Russian Anna Chicherova is perhaps the favourite, and if she creates the same energy Isinbayeva orchestrated during the pole vault then a gold medal is possible.  American Brigetta Barrett will also fancy her chances given that she holds the highest season best out of everyone with 2.04 metres.

But with no name standing out from the competition, it could be the chance for a relative unknown to take glory. Every single athlete in the final can realistically harbour medal ambitions.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices