NASCAR at the Glen 2013 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Donald WoodFeatured ColumnistAugust 11, 2013

WATKINS GLEN, NY - AUGUST 11:  Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M's Toyota, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Cheez-It 355 at The Glen at Watkins Glen International on August 11, 2013 in Watkins Glen, New York.  (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)
Tom Pennington/Getty Images

In an entertaining race from world-famous Watkins Glen International, it was Kyle Busch and the No. 18 car that took the checkered flag and won the 2013 Cheez-It 355 at The Glen.

Busch has been a serious contender at each of the last two races at Watkins Glen, but after holding off Brad Keselowski and the No. 2 car on the last lap, he was finally able to drive into victory lane.

Keselowski held on for a second-place finish, Martin Truex Jr. managed a very respectable third-place finish and Carl Edwards finished fourth. Juan Pablo Montoya rounded out the top five.


Full Cheez-It 355 at The Glen Results

PosDriverCar #MakeStarted
1Kyle Busch18Toyota5
2Brad Keselowski2Ford8
3Martin Truex Jr.56Toyota3
4Carl Edwards99Ford16
5Juan Pablo Montoya42Chevrolet11
6Clint Bowyer15Toyota2
7Joey Logano22Ford9
8Jimmie Johnson48Chevrolet18
9Kurt Busch78Chevrolet13
10AJ Allmendinger47Toyota4
11Jamie McMurray1Chevrolet6
12Casey Mears13Ford30
13Kevin Harvick29Chevrolet26
14Ryan Newman39Chevrolet14
15Max Papis14Chevrolet29
16Greg Biffle16Ford17
17Paul Menard27Chevrolet7
18Ricky Stenhouse Jr.17Ford33
19Denny Hamlin11Toyota20
20Danica Patrick10Chevrolet35
21David Ragan34Ford31
22Boris Said32Ford27
23Matt Kenseth20Toyota10
24Owen Kelly51Chevrolet23
25David Gilliland38Ford21
26Jeff Burton31Chevrolet22
27Dave Blaney7Chevrolet40
28Landon Cassill140Chevrolet41
29Alex Kennedy19Toyota37
30Dale Earnhardt Jr.88Chevrolet25
31Marcos Ambrose9Ford1
32Brian Vickers55Toyota15
33David Stremme30Toyota39
34Kasey Kahne5Chevrolet19
35Ron Fellows33Chevrolet24
36Jeff Gordon24Chevrolet28
37Aric Almirola43Ford32
38Michael McDowell35Ford12
39Brian Keselowski152Toyota43
40Travis Kvapil93Toyota38
41Victor Gonzalez Jr.36Chevrolet34
42Tomy Drissi87Toyota42
43David Reutimann83Toyota36

*Visit for results and race times.


Two-time Watkins Glen winner Marcos Ambrose raced his way to the pole for the race and started off red-hot, staying in the lead and putting a healthy gap between himself and the field.

David Reutimann and the No. 83 car brought out the first caution of the day on Lap 6 with a blown engine. After the race returned to green for a few laps, Jeff Gordon and the No. 24 car brought out the second caution of the day with major front-end damage on Lap 14.

After Ambrose once again brought the field back to racing, the race stayed clean until teams began pitting under the green flag. Kevin Harvick then took the lead following the first round of stops.

The yellow flag came out for the third time as Michael McDowell blew out a tire on Lap 35. Shortly after returning to green-flag racing, the red flag was brought out in a four-car wreck on Lap 40 that involved Travis Kvapil, Ron Fellows, Tomy Drissi, Landon Cassill and Victor Gonzalez Jr.

Ambrose took the lead once the race restarted and maintained it until a caution on Lap 60 came out when Aric Almirola smashed into the tire barrier. Teams made pit stops under caution, and the field was shuffled.

With Ambrose stuck in traffic, Busch took the lead with just over 20 laps to go. Another yellow flag was brought out on Lap 78 and turned the race into a closing-lap shootout.

The hope of a clean finale was shattered with just 10 laps left as Kasey Kahne and the No. 5 car got sideways and collected the No. 88 of teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr., as well as Jeff Burton, Alex Kennedy and David Ragan.

Just as the green flag came out once again, Ambrose was turned around coming up the hill. The wreck included Brian Vickers and Max Papis. After the final restart of the day, Busch emerged to win the race.


2013 Sprint Cup Standings

RankDriverPointsBehindStartsWinsTop 5Top 10DNFLapsLaps Led
1Jimmie Johnson808-224915059501136
2Clint Bowyer7337522071215941115
3Carl Edwards7288022171105917214
4Kevin Harvick7071012225112566144
5Kyle Busch6931152231014355471066
6Dale Earnhardt Jr.6701382205122573594
7Matt Kenseth65914922451135548995
8Brad Keselowski63417422071115745153
9Greg Biffle627181221380571187
10Martin Truex Jr.6251832215925627253
11Kurt Busch62318522051025855271
12Kasey Kahne6221862227935625466

*Complete standings found at


Another wild race is in the books, and the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series moves toward the Chase for the Sprint Cup as it travels to Michigan International Speedway for the Pure Michigan 400. The next race will take place Aug. 18 at 1:16 p.m. ET and will be televised on ESPN.

Greg Biffle was the 2012 race champion.