World Football logoWorld Football

Game-by-Game Guide to the Weekend's Premier League Preseason Friendlies

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 24:  Steven Gerrard of Liverpool celebrates a goal during the match between the Melbourne Victory and Liverpool at Melbourne Cricket Ground on July 24, 2013 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)
Michael Dodge/Getty Images
Nick AkermanFeatured ColumnistAugust 9, 2013

The European football season is little over a week away, but that hasn't stopped a host of teams from racking up mileage during the last week before the big kickoff.

Saturday sees a number of Premier League teams challenged in England and abroad. With little time to strengthen squads before the opening game of the domestic campaign (sorry, Manchester United and Arsenal fans), this represents a huge opportunity for many players to sneak into their respective club's starting lineup.

Which teams are in action this weekend? Check out a full list below:

 

Friday, Aug. 9

Manchester United vs. Sevilla, Old Trafford, Manchester (Rio Ferdinand's testimonial). Kickoff: 8:00 p.m. BST, 3:00 p.m. ET.

 

Saturday, Aug. 10

Arsenal vs. Manchester City, Olympic Stadium, Helsinki. Kickoff: 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

Aston Villa vs. Malaga, Villa Park, Birmingham. Kickoff: 3.00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m ET.

Cardiff City vs. Athletic Bilbao, Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff. Kickoff: 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

Celtic vs. Liverpool, Aviva Stadium, Dublin. Kickoff: 5:00 p.m. BST, 12:00 p.m. ET.

Crystal Palace vs. Lazio, Selhurst Park, London. Kickoff: 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

Fulham vs. Parma, Craven Cottage, London. Kickoff: 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

Hull City vs. Real Betis, KC Stadium, Hull (Andy Dawson's testimonial). Kickoff: 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

Norwich City vs. Panathinaikos, Carrow Road, Norwich. Kickoff: 3:00 p.m. BST, 10.00 a.m. ET.

 

Southampton vs. Real Sociedad, St. Mary's, Southampton: Kickoff: 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

Stoke City vs. Genoa, Brittannia Stadium. Kickoff 3:00 p.m. BST, 10.00 a.m. ET.

West Bromwich Albion vs. Bologna, The Hawthorns, West Brom. Kickoff 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

West Ham United vs. Pacos Ferreira, Boleyn Ground, London. Kickoff 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

Tottenham Hotspur vs. Espanyol, White Hart Lane, London. Kickoff 5:30 p.m. BST, 12:30 p.m. ET.

Newcastle United vs. Braga, St. James' Park, Newcastle upon Tyne. Kickoff 6:00 p.m. BST, 2:00 p.m. ET.

 

Sunday, Aug. 11

Everton vs. Real Betis, Goodison Park, Liverpool. Kickoff 3:00 p.m. BST, 10:00 a.m. ET.

 

As the schedule shows, many of the English clubs are settling in back into the 3:00 p.m. kickoff slot with tough fixtures against European opposition. A contingency of Spanish and Italian teams makes its way to England for a last round of fixtures, but which games deserve special mention?

While Rio Ferdinand and Andy Dawson's testimonials mark special days, these matches are sure to be less competitive. Arsenal's prestige match against Manchester City should set Finland alight, while many will be interested in Celtic's clash with Liverpool in Ireland.

Which friendlies are you looking forward to this weekend? Let me know in the comments section and be sure to hit me up on Twitter.

 

 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices