Neste Oil Rally Finland 2013: Recap of Final Stage and Results

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Neste Oil Rally Finland 2013: Recap of Final Stage and Results
Massimo Bettiol/Getty Images

The Neste Oil Rally Finland 2013 wrapped up on Saturday, and Day 3 did not have much of an impact on the final standings.

World Rally Championship leader Sebastien Ogier entered the final day with a big lead in the standings, and he didn't lose much ground. He lost only three-tenths of a second to Thierry Neuville.

Ogier won for the fifth time this season and for the second consecutive race. He has finished lower than second only once this season. He is closing in on a championship as he has a 90-point lead with five races remaining. 

After building a good lead yesterday, Ogier just had to keep pace with Neuville. He was able to stay right with Neuville and easily won the race.

Massimo Bettiol/Getty Images

With the rest of the pack well behind the leaders, it became a game of avoiding huge mistakes. Neither driver did anything to knock himself out of contention, but Neuville landed hard on Day 2  and suffered a tire puncture.

After that the result was never in doubt after Ogier took the lead on the second day.

Neuville had the lead after one day, but he couldn't stay with Ogier throughout the event. Ogier was good enough to hold on after taking the lead on Day 2.

Ogier has put himself in position to win the championship in the next couple of races. It is very unlikely that he can clinch at the next rally in Germany, but there is a slight possibility. After that rally, he will have a better chance to make it official.

Here are the overall standings for the Neste Oil Rally Finland 2013, and the rest of the results can be found at the WRC's official website:

Position No. Driver Time 
1 8 Sebastien Ogier 2:43:10.4
2 11 Thierry Neuville 2:43:47.0
3 4 Mads Ostberg 2:44:08.0
4 2 Mikko Hirvonen 2:44:32.0
5 3 Dani Sordo 2:49:18.9
6 5 Evgeny Novikov 2:51:50.1
7 88 Jari Ketomaa 2:54:29.6
8 23 Per-Gunnar Andersson 2:54:51.9
9 74 Robert Kubica 2:55:58.5
10 9 Andrea Mikkelsen 2:56:52.4
11 84 Hayden Paddon 2:57:23.5
12 35 Yazeed Al Rajhi 3:00:21.0
13 78 Edoardo Bresolin 3:00:21.2
14 85 J. Salo 3:00:55.5
15 96 Yuriy Protasov 3:02:13.2
16 93 Alexey Lukyanuk 3:03:11.1
17 7 Jari-Matti Latvala 3:04:48.1
18 50 Valeriy Gorban 3:05:00.7
19 79 Robert Barrable 3:05:30.4
20 49 Oleksiy Kikireshko 3:06:29.1

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Basketball

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.