Glorious Goodwood Racing 2013: Biggest Outsiders to Back in Friday's Action

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Glorious Goodwood Racing 2013: Biggest Outsiders to Back in Friday's Action
Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images
Galician

In what has already been an eventful week on England’s south coast, the action from Goodwood continues this weekend with another array of outside chances to be considered.

The West Sussex course so far hasn’t thrown up as many surprises as the bookmakers might hope, with Broxbourne and Magic City some of Wednesday’s bigger outsiders at 7-1 and 5-1 respectively.

However, with the competition heating up towards Saturday, punters can only hope the field opens up to those less favoured.

That said, here are some of the better prospects one might hope to make something off of in Friday’s installment from Glorious Goodwood.

 

Sheikhzayedroad, 1:55 p.m. BST/8:55 a.m. ET

Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images
David Simcock

David Simcock has seen only one of his horses place at Goodwood this week and won’t be holding out too much hope for Friday’s early 12-1 shot, Sheikhzayedroad.

However, the four-year-old gelding has a lot of promise for the Coutts Glorious Stakes after placing top two in its last four flat races, two of which he won.

The Racing Post have Masterstroke and Aiken down as favourites for this encounter, but recent outings at Ascot and Epsom put Sheikhzayedroad in a better light for the coming examination.

 

Snowboarder, 2:30 p.m. BST/9:30 a.m. ET

With a record of nine top-three finishes in his last 10 races, it’s a wonder why Snowboarder is as far out as 10-1 for the Bonhams Thoroughbred Stakes this weekend.

Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images
Charlie Appleby

Friday sees the colt go up against the highly-favoured Montiridge, with the aim of dethroning the 2-1 leader.

Having won at Newmarket last month in good-to-firm conditions, the sunny weather might be a blessing for the three-year-old trained by Charlie Appleby.

 

Galician, 3:05 p.m. BST/10:05 a.m. ET

In a field of 20, Galician falls somewhere around the middle of the pack for the Betfred Mile on Friday and is simmering at around 15-1 for Friday’s meet.

Until last week, the Mark Johnston-trained filly hadn’t coped too well when faced with plenty of opposition, but then managed to top a field of 29 at Ascot in good-to-firm conditions.

Journalist Tony Coleman tweeted his surprise at the result, too:

With a similar setting expected for Friday, the scene is set for the four-year-old to recreate such heroics.

As well as winning three of her last six, Galician has finished 10th in three of her last six, meaning things could go one of two very different ways in this race.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Horse Racing

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.