Premier League Preseason Friendlies Guide: Week of July 29

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Premier League Preseason Friendlies Guide: Week of July 29
Masashi Hara/Getty Images

Premier League 2013-14 season is little over two weeks away. With many sides returning to England after preseason tours across the globe, each team now has a handful of games left to improve its fitness before the big kickoff.

The week of July 29 sees plenty of interesting encounters take place. England's best are gearing up to take on Serie A's heavy hitters in a number of mouth-watering battles that involve the Audi Cup, Emirates Cup and the Guinness International Champions Cup.

A handful of matches have already taken place on July 29, with full results and goalscorers recorded below. Which matches should you look out for across the rest of the week?

Let's break it down.

Victor Fraile/Getty Images

Monday July 29:

Kitchee FC 2-5 Manchester United, Hong Kong Stadium—Goalscorers: Wai, Alkande; Welbeck, Smalling, Fabio, Januzaj, Lingard.

West Bromwich Albion 3-1 Atromitos Athens, HawthornsAnelka, Berahino, Rosenberg; Karagounis.

Peterborough United 0-1 Hull City, London Road—Figueroa.

Stu Forster/Getty Images

Tuesday, July 30:

Brentford vs. Cardiff City, Griffin ParkK.O: 2:45 p.m ET, 7:45 p.m BST.

St. Mirren vs. Newcastle United, St Mirren ParkK.O: 2:30 p.m ET, 7:30 p.m BST.

Brighton & Hove Albion vs. Norwich City, Amex StadiumK.O: 2:30 p.m ET, 7:30 p.m BST.

Philadelphia Union vs. Stoke City, PPL ParkK.O: 7:30 p.m ET, 12:30 a.m BST.

Victor Fraile/Getty Images

Wednesday, July 31:

Walsall vs. Aston Villa, Bescot StadiumK.O: 2:30 p.m ET, 7:30 p.m BST.

Manchester City vs. AC Milan, Allianz Arena (Audi Cup)K.O: 12:15 p.m ET, 5:15 p.m BST.

 

Thursday, August 1:

Juventus vs. Everton, AT&T Park (Guinness International Champions Cup)K.O: 11 p.m ET, 4 a.m BST.

Stanley Chou/Getty Images

Friday, August 2:

Chelsea vs. Inter Milan, Lucas Oil Stadium (Guinness International Champions Cup)K.O: 8 p.m ET, 1 a.m BST.

Braga vs. Norwich City, AXA StadiumK.O: TBC

 

Saturday, August 3:

Arsenal vs. Napoli, Emirates Stadium (Emirates Cup)K.O: 11:20 a.m ET, 4:20 p.m BST.

Waterford United vs. Crystal Palace, Waterford Regional Sports CenterK.O: 1 p.m ET, 6 p.m BST.

Liverpool vs. Olympiacos, Anfield (Steven Gerrard testimonial)K.O: 9 a.m ET, 2 p.m BST.

Celta Vigo vs. Southampton, Estadio Municipal de BalaidosK.O: 3 p.m ET, 8 p.m BST.

Macclesfield vs. Stoke City, Moss RoseK.O: 10 a.m ET, 3 p.m BST.

AS Monaco vs. Tottenham Hotspur, Stade Louis IIK.O: 12:30 p.m ET, 5:30 p.m BST.

Scott Halleran/Getty Images

Sunday, August 4:

Arsenal vs. Galatasaray, Emirates (Emirates Cup)K.O: 11:20 a.m ET, 4:20 p.m BST.

Shamrock Rovers vs. Aston Villa, Tallaght StadiumK.O: 9 a.m ET, 2 p.m BST.

Wrexham vs. Stoke City, Racecourse GroundK.O: 10 a.m ET, 3 p.m BST.

 

Monday, August 5:

Fulham vs. Real Betis, Craven CottageK.O: 3 p.m ET, 8 p.m BST.

 

The schedule is only going to get busier for Premier League clubs. With manager busting a gut to bring in new signings before the opening round of fixtures, this also provides an excellent opportunity for acquisitions to acclimatise. Which preseason friendlies and players are you looking forward to watching?

Let us know in the comments section below, and be sure to chat with me on Twitter:

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

Premier League

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.